Networking wizards? Poor gigabit ethernet performance.

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Grall, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    I run my national benchmark for broadband speed test on my old PC, it reports almost 280Mbit/s downstream to a test server in my own city - less than 8ms latency - on what my ISP claims to be a 300Mbit/s connection.
    (http://www.bredbandskollen.se/)

    If I run same test on my new PC, I get a dog's whisker under 66Mbit/s, and this at 3:45AM, so not likely any ISP network contention. Only 1 device is active at a time on my end as well, so no contention here either.

    Browser tested with is Google Chrome with Flash plugin disabled and Windows 10 same major version on both PCs.

    If I download Steam game (Bioshock Enhanced, full disclosure), Steam client reports speed around 284-288Mbit/s on new PC...

    Time of day doesn't matter; I've tried the speed test several times over the course of a couple weeks now, always same result. Doesn't matter which port on my router I use (Apple Time Capsule); speed is the same 65.5-ish Mbit/s on the speed test. Tried three different cables as well. Didn't matter which driver I used on new PC either; Windows default driver, or the Intel driver ASUS supplied me from their support site.

    Ran the diagnostic tests Intel supplies in their drivers; passed with flying colors... 100% all green checkmarks. Reports 1Gbit/s full duplex link speed. Cable is 'excellent quality', and so on. No noticeable signal degradation and whatnot.

    So why am I getting 66Mbit/s and 280Mbit/s to the same site from two different PCs hooked up to the very same network? :p This discrepancy doesn't seem to bother Steam, but I'm thinking maybe other sites might also be slowed down by whatever is affecting the broadband speed test page. That wouldn't be good.

    Help, anyone...? :D
     
  2. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
    Likes Received:
    3,114
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Have you tried a different browser or a different speed test site?
     
  3. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    656
    Location:
    Japan
    Speedtest isn't very reliable anyway, you're completely pendant on the server you're testing with. Here in Japan I can test with Japanese servers and get a couple of Mbps but if I pick a sever in Korea it is always much faster. You might just be testing with a not very good server.

    If Steam downloads are fast I don't think there is any issue with your internet connection.
     
  4. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    807
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Don't rely on just 1 speed test site.

    Try fast.com too for instance. MAybe someone else have links to other services.
     
  5. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Yes that can be the case sometimes, but here I go from one PC to the next and the difference is immediately over 200Mbit/s. And the servers are good. :p It's meant as an official internet speed measuring service, run by the ISPs in cooperation with the swedish government...
     
  6. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,525
    Likes Received:
    8,738
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Any differences in Antivirus programs between the two? I once had Eset Nod32 slowing things down as it was scanning all the http traffic.
     
  7. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Shouldn't be. I run only windows defender on both machines, with what I believe to be identical settings. There's not that many settings to be had in windefender anyway.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  8. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    807
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    What about the latest drivers directly from Intel?
     
  9. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    @Bludd
    Been unsure what to download, if maybe there's different drivers for different NICs. But maybe intel network drivers are unified these days. Hopefully, because I'd hate having to dig up which IC is integrated onto my mobo. :p
     
  10. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    807
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    It should say in device manager.
     
  11. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    656
    Location:
    Japan
    But does it really matter if that one speedtest site gives the same result or not? I mean if Steam, porn etc. all download at the same speed then why care?
     
  12. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Yes, but as I explained above, if one site gives rotten (hm!) performance, maybe other sites do as well. That's my boggle. I shouldn't get oddball performance figures on even ONE site, not when my old PC is equally fast across the board.
     
  13. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
    Likes Received:
    3,114
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Did you try another browser?
     
  14. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,166
    Likes Received:
    1,311
    Try copying huge files from and to old / new PC.

    Does it always saturate full 1gbps?
     
  15. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,158
    Likes Received:
    5,095
    It's entirely possible that if the driver for that Ethernet port has QOS traffic shaping that it may deem that prioritizing traffic to that site (or to the software app being used) isn't that important and hence may limit it in order to prioritize other traffic.

    Looking at the ASUS ROG Strix X299-XE Gaming from your post (I'm not sure if you still got that). It includes 2 things that can mess with your internet traffic. 2 things that your previous Ethernet port likely didn't have to deal with.

    The first is Languard (https://rog.asus.com/articles/maximus-motherboards/what-is-rog-languard/ ) which is a physical modification of the Ethernet port.

    The second is Gamefirst (https://rog.asus.com/technology/rep...tions/rog-gamefirst-2-intel-gigabit-ethernet/ ) This is basically just a software layer on top of Ethernet (cFosSpeed branded for Asus) that does traffic shaping.

    You can't do anything about the first case and just have to hope Asus haven't done something really bizarre. The second, is potentially deciding which sites should get all the bandwidth and which sites shouldn't. Actually, more importantly it may be deciding which applications on your machine are allowed access to full bandwidth. IE - browsers may get only limited bandwidth while something like Steam are allowed full bandwidth.

    I'd suggest uninstalling it and just installing the bare Intel Ethernet driver and see if that has any effect.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Cyan, Kej, Lightman and 3 others like this.
  16. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,572
    Likes Received:
    2,292
    has Silent tip solved the issue?
     
  17. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    This shouldn't affect one web server but not another. Hardware is bottom layer of OSI model or whatchamacallits, so should affect everything uniformly. It doesn't care from where packets come; flow control is higher up in the stack...

    I don't bother with shit like that. Besides, any QoS which throttles downloads when it is the only data transfer going on at the time isn't worth its salt. That's just stupid. :p

    Sadly, no. I didn't see his reply until now btw.

    I tried a few other internet speed providers/test servers, speedtest.net I think, and fast.com or whatever it's called; Netflix's own speedtest. None of them crack (much more than) 60Mbit/s. I would blame chrome, but I'm using chrome on my old PC as well and there I get 280Mbit/s, so that can't be it... :/

    *Edit: besides, Edge gets same miserable results. fast.com, 63Mbit/s, speedtest.net 46Mbit/s.

    Interesting detail is that some of the servers have revved up high past 60Mbits but then quickly throttled down within a second or two, so something funky is going on somewhere.
     
    #17 Grall, Dec 13, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2017
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...