Network management/control software?

I’m looking for a solution that allows me to monitor and control network traffic.

What I want is:

- Hot spot style user accounts that are easy to generate by non-IT personal.

- Data logging. All data must by logged including urls, which users visited those urls, traffic types (http, app market, streaming video etc).

- Data usage control. It must be possible to set a data limit for users.

- QoS. Preferably dynamic based on network usage.

It can either be an existing solution or something developed “in house”. I am no programmer or network expert the do-it-ourselves option might be best as it will allow us to tailor it to our needs.

I have been looking into some options that could be used as a base to build on. Squid seems to do most of the stuff I want, not sure about logging traffic types though.

Could somebody offer me some insight as to how many hours of programming it would take to build something like the above? Or point me to good existing solutions?

the one you described seems would works using Microtik. Btw some of them also can be done with windows PC running transparent proxy. But the new squid only runs on linux i think

My company set something like this up for a local bank's guest wifi with a SonicWall TZ 100, a Synology NAS box, and a bit of html. Probably not as user friendly and robust as what you're looking for though.

It will have to function in remote areas where on site service will be difficult so that is probably not as robust as I would like ;)

I'm looking at Endian now. Like Oranga's recommendation they have a software solution available as well but it seems to run on top of a existing linux installation instead of using it's own OS so that is a plus.

It seems to do most of the stuff I want, just need to look at actually how much details can be logged an to what extent that data can be extracted to be displayed in our own overlay. Same goes for some basic control things like WAN switching.