My GPU is running at 3D speeds all the time.

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by I.S.T., Aug 22, 2012.

  1. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    [​IMG]

    This is, well, not normal. I do not have any GPGPU apps running, so I dunno what's causing this to happen.

    Current version is 301.42, I am running Windows Vista x64 SP2.

    Can anyone help me figure out why?
     
  2. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Video player? Flash acceleration in browser? Do a fresh boot and make sure nothing else is running. Does Afterburner report the same?
     
  3. ERP

    ERP Moderator
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    There have been issues/features in the NVidia driver that did this if you either ran a 120Hz monitor or I believe 2 monitors (it might be 2 monitors at different refresh rates)
     
  4. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I'll try afterburner in a sec, shuit off my browser entirely and it stays the same. Not running two monitors or a 120 hz one.

    And Afterburner tells me the same thing... I'll try a reboot in a bit.
     
    #4 I.S.T., Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2012
  5. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    So if my GPU is hotter than 49C(I didn't have the air conditioner on for much of the day due to it being relatively cool), it kicks into high gear on the clock speeds. the voltage is staying the same though.

    Nvidia, you utter morons.

    Edit: Okay the voltage went down as well JUST after I make this post, thus I have egg on my face.
     
  6. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It raises the clocks as it gets hotter? Is it basing the load detection on the GPU temp?
     
  7. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I have no idea how to verify that, but it seems to...
     
  8. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    A hair dryer would do it…

    Well, it doesn't really do anything the AC can't, but it's easier to control.
     
  9. HMBR

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Brazil
    can't you just manually set a lower fan speed to test that?
     
  10. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    If you have more than one monitor connected to one card, the GPU will run at full tilt all the time.
     
  11. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    Are you sure? It doesn't on Radeons.
     
  12. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
  13. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
  14. Blakhart

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you looked at the power setting of the system? If set to performance rather than balanced or max power saving that may play a role here.
     
  15. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    The problem was solved a while ago, but thank you anyway. :) I later replaced the GPU for unrelated reasons as well.
     
  16. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    What was it? Colleagues of mine have it with a certain Dell laptop model. Laptop repair guy couldn't fix it due to lack of proper screwdrivers (lol), so we don't know yet for sure what it is, but it may apparently be related to a firmware issue.
     
  17. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I'm running a desktop, so it's not really a comparable thing. I switched to a Geforce GTX 650. In retrospect a possible mistake. It'll depend on how drivers improve for it I guess. Damn OCable, though. First GPU I've ever used where OCing felt like it made a real difference.

    Edit: I just realized I misread you.

    The issue was related to temps, really. If i kept my temps down, my GPU didn't flare up into full 3D speed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...