My demo updated again ... now this time it should really wor

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Humus, Feb 22, 2002.

  1. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I think I've ironed out the last bug, had an error in my code, calculated the imageSize parameter wrong when I uploaded the compressed textures. ATi's drivers seams to ignore this parameter ... I could put just about anything in there and it would still work ... no errors generated, not very helpful for debugging. :rollseyes:

    Anyway, get is here as usual:
    http://hem.passagen.se/emiper/3d.html

    Oh, and someone please put up a screenshot so I can see if it's really working :smile:
     
  2. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    hmm
    still not right here I believe.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Damn...someone send Humus a GeForce card! :wink:
     
  4. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Considering my own programming style (just one more compile :smile:
     
  5. Johnny Rotten

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Amen. Kudos to Humus for even attempting to resolve issues with hardware he doesnt have. Talk about an uphill fight (through mud, rain, snow and wind to boot!)
     
  6. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Arrrggh :sad: ... back to work again.
    If my theory is correct that the uploading of compressed texture is to blame the bug should be in this piece of code:

    Code:
            unsigned int bytesPerBlock = (imformat == IMAGE_FORMAT_COMPRESSED_DXT1)? 8 : 16;
            unsigned int size = (((width >> 2) + 3) & ~3) * (((height >> 2) + 3) & ~3) * bytesPerBlock;
    
    	glCompressedTexImage2DARB(target, 0, internalFormat, width, height, 0, size, pixels);
    	if (mipmapped){
    		unsigned int level = 1, w = width, h = height;
    		unsigned char *src = pixels;
    			
    		do {
    			src += size;
    			if (w > 1) w >>= 1;
    			if (h > 1) h >>= 1;
    	                	size = (((w >> 2) + 3) & ~3) * (((h >> 2) + 3) & ~3) * bytesPerBlock;
    			glCompressedTexImage2DARB(target, level++, internalFormat, w, h, 0, size, src);
    		} while (w > 1 || h > 1);
    	}			
    
    Anyone with some OpenGL experience that can see what's wrong here? "pixels" holds the data in s3tc format.



    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Humus on 2002-02-22 22:30 ]</font>
     
  7. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Stupid me ... should of course be
    size = ((w + 3) >> 2) * ((h + 3) >> 2) * bytesPerBlock;

    Thought I had debugged it and checked that every value was correct, but obviously not. But this time I've done just that ... so now it should really work. Try redownling it now.
     
  8. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Congratulations :smile:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Nice! :grin:

    But now that I look at your screenshot it looks much brighter than what it does on my screen or in my screenshots. Maybe it's the JPEG compression, but it doesn't look like that, it does look like it's actually much brighter. :/ I don't get the colors saturating that much close to the lights. It's only on very short distance from the light I get that bright and oversaturated such that the bumps goes away. It looks twice as unbumped on your screenshot.
     
  10. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Btw, I'd be interested in what framerate we're seeing on the GF3. Hit 'D' to stop demo, hit Enter to reset position/rotation, hit space to show the framerate.
     
  11. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Generally my screen is a little bright, but that should not affect the image.
    I am also using a little vibrance control, that might fuck up the saturation compared to your pictures.

    The jpeg compression is not the reason I believe. I used quality 8 in Photoshop, that's pretty good.
     
  12. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    [​IMG]

    At this point the framerate is changeing between 60 and 80 depending on the lightsources.
    In general the framerate varies between 60 and 120 in the demo.
    (1024)
     
  13. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    It most certainly is much brighter on your screenshot. But the floor and pillars look the same on both, now what driver does it the right way. Time for further investigations ... oh, well ...

    Btw, is that score from a Ti200/Regular GF3/Ti500?

    [​IMG]

    Edit: If the pic doesn't show, right click it and select "show picture"


    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Humus on 2002-02-23 00:51 ]</font>
     
  14. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Athlon 1200 @ 1350
    Gf3Ti200 @ 220/520
    Detonator 27.42

    Yes the difference is obvious.

    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Galilee on 2002-02-23 00:54 ]</font>
     
  15. Dave B(TotalVR)

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Essex, UK (not far from IMGTEC:)
    Hehe, so how do I get it to work on my KYRO then? it mons abotu two gl_extensions:

    gl_ext_texture_edge_clamp
    and
    GL_arb_texture_env_crossbar/gl_nv_texture_env_combine4

    Im sure the clamp thing should work, ist that really basic? But what about the other?
     
  16. Doomtrooper

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I find that hard to believe, how about putting the frame counter on this time showing 120.
    Thx

    :wink:

    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Doomtrooper on 2002-02-23 03:15 ]</font>
     
  17. CosmoKramer

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Norway
    [​IMG]

    Gf3 @ 230/510
    23.12 WinXP drivers

    That ought to shut you up DT.


    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: CosmoKramer on 2002-02-23 03:44 ]</font>
     
  18. Galilee

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    hehe
    I don't know why I would lie about that. In some areas of the demo I hit 120-130fps. Mostly it hovers around 70-90 and minimum I have seen is 60.

    I flied around myself and managed to get almost 200fps in one very dark area :wink:

    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Galilee on 2002-02-23 04:12 ]</font>
     
  19. Reverend

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    24
    Humus, did you get an email from me yesterday (re Keith/devrel)?
     
  20. Doomtrooper

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thx :grin:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...