MS protective services any good?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Altcon, May 15, 2005.

  1. Altcon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    side A
  2. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    knowing what causes most problems i know i am not bloody touching that with 1000000 meters pole....
    M$ and security?....more likely they just see this as new revenue and wanna piece of the pie....

    maybe, just maybe, they could fucking plug the holes in their products instead selling this crap....
     
  3. Guden Oden

    Guden Oden Senior Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,201
    Likes Received:
    91
    Now to be fair silence, even if MS plugged every single hole in their programs that still wouldn't eliminate the dangers of malware; many of these apps don't rely on any holes at all, but rather ignorant users. So, in order to protect against these without resorting to "adaware" type programs, you'd have to dumb down the whole OS to game&watch levels.

    Clearly not an acceptable solution...
     
  4. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    urm......does activeX ring a bell?.....
    tell me...how does all that malware instal on computers?



    why i dont get _ANYTHING_ browsing certain sites with Firefox, while if i go there with IE my comp is infested with gazillion malware programs?....
     
  5. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    oregon
    well there is a java script thangy?
     
  6. Altcon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    side A
    have you ever seen anything infect firefox? I haven't in all of the times I've used it.
     
  7. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    exactlly my point....M$ is offering "protection" service for which you will have to pay instead of making browser that doesnt need one.....

    i sweep for spyware and that shit once per month just for fun.....cause BOTH AdAware and SpyBot show zero, null, nada, nothing.....after one month of going around net....(not to mention pr0n sites).....

    show me machine that is using IE and went to same sites and ended with same results and i dunno..... i might change my sig?
     
  8. Altcon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    side A
    Well, I don't surf porn and my girlfriend insists on using IE, so I sweep once in a while. But with Adwatch, Mcaffee and Sygate all running in the background my average is two-three hits a month and they're just cookies.
    So basicall I think it is possible to be safe with IE.
    I can't say the same applies to kids computers-ICQ,MSN, Kazaa and many more crappy "freeware" programs along with internet games fill their PCs with amazing amounts of spyware. They always come to the shop with their AV disabled and their PCs crawling no matter what they do.
     
  9. ANova

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    10
    You know, you can disable active x.
     
  10. Altcon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    side A
    and have half the apges not repond properly.
    I can also using the same logic use Firefox, but tell it to average joe and his careless kids. Come on, if you don't see at least a tid bit of an issue here than you must think that windows ME rocked....;)
    Really though, MS have tried to work hard at improving security, but spyware writers work harder and most people do not have full security on their PC to keep it clean. And I don't think disabeling a vital feature like active x is a solution.
     
  11. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hehe, I just did a fresh install over the weekend and forgot to disconnect my router. Needles to say, right on the first boot I cought a couple of viruses, ad's etc., including BackOrifice even. That before even starting a single program! So I disconnected the router and started over with a clean format...

    It's not only IE, it's Windows itself being nothing but a huge security hole. You NEED to install a good antivirus proggie, a good SW-firewall (despite the HW-firewall), AdAware and immunize with Spybot prior to going online or you're f***ed up. And of course, use Firefox or Opera because despite all this protection, IE will still get you some headache.
     
  12. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think Spybot and Spyware Doctor together is a great combination and so I wont be using MS's stuff.
     
  13. Ichneumon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you got that kind of infection from behind your router, then your router's firewall is very improperly configured. I'd only expect that kind of infection to a completely unpatched systems on a system with no firewall at all and a highspeed inet connection.

    Your point still stands, but I'd suggest making sure your router has the latest firmware and that you've enabled all the appropriate firewall settings in the configuration.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...