More R350 Info

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by elroy, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. elroy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
  2. epicstruggle

    epicstruggle Passenger on Serenity
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Object in Space
    :shock: I didnt think we would see so much out of refresh part. Is this of ATI, i know Nv has had a good track record of releasing refresh parts with this sort of gain.

    later,
     
  3. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    Its not your fathers ati i guess :) Its great seeing things get shaken up a bit in the sector . I would love to see ati become the market leader only for videolodgic to come out of no where and steal it from them :)
     
  4. PrzemKo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Nagorak

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. epicstruggle

    epicstruggle Passenger on Serenity
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Object in Space
  7. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    I can't confirm (or deny it), because I have no idea. However, if they are using DDR-II, I assume it's either a cost or power consumption measure, not performance.

    What really surprised me, is that they are stating the M10 to be an 8 pipeline part. That is, using either the R300 or R350 core. That doesn't make much sense to me...unless it turns out that ATI will introduce two new notebook parts, one based on the RV350, and another one for "desknotes", the R300/350.
     
  8. RussSchultz

    RussSchultz Professional Malcontent
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    HTTP 404
    What? Just a minute ago DDR-II cost too much and was too power hungry. What changed?

    DDR-I is reaching the architectural limits of its speed, making other memory types a necessity if they want to want to avoid angering the bandwidth gods.
     
  9. demalion

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    Only if you're right in our little "trannie" count dispute from long ago (oops, started even before that!) concerning the RV350 :p

    :arrow: gets ready to hide from the tweaking a certain person is likely to be contemplating... :lol:
     
  10. demalion

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    I thought that was just the nvidia overvolted version of "DDR-II" at high clock speeds?

    Not for the clockspeeds they are targetting, surely?
     
  11. RussSchultz

    RussSchultz Professional Malcontent
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    HTTP 404
    The current DDR-II modules are 2.5V core/1.8V IO. Samsung's next part (256Mb version) is also listed with the same parameters, though somebody has mentioned a lower voltage (hence lower power) version of the part coming out sometime, but I couldn't find mention of it on samsung's site.

    http://www.samsungelectronics.com/s...ily=103&name=Graphics_Memory&pageno=1

    I think 700Mhz (350Mhz) is getting pretty far up their for DRAMs to operate effeciently, going much further will require an architectural change. (Whether it be to a new signalling method, or dropping the I/O voltage down to allow smaller processes to operate without burning power in level shifters, etc)
     
  12. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,081
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    O Canada!
    We've already discussed one manufacturer going up to 500MHz DDR.
     
  13. Evildeus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,657
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the DDR-2 specs are moving from a 2.5 volts to 1.8v.
     
  14. Himself

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think ram can go faster, but you might see the end of raw chips on a board, the suckers will need first heatsinks, then active cooling.
     
  15. antlers

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think DDR II is wrong, anyway
     
  16. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Ummm..500 MHZ DDR-II costs too much and is too power hungry. ;) I don't see any of these ATI products using anything more than 350 MHz...possibly 400 Mhz Ram.

    Mhz for Mhz, DDR-II should be more power friendly. Cost will all depend on market forces. I'm sure 350 Mhz DDR-II isn't in the same price league as 500 Mhz....
     
  17. Socos

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    After a year of browsing this forum I finally wanted to post something bad enough to register... Here goes.

    Does anyone know whether the RV350 will be 128 bit bus or 256 bit bus?
     
  18. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,081
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Yes. Was that worth the wait? :lol: :twisted: :wink:
     
  19. Sabastian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Good question, but I think it will be on a 128bit bus simply because it is supposed to be a value part. A 256bit bus would require a more expensive PCB and I think ATi has enough varieties of the 256bit bus to go around at this point. I'd wager on a 128bit bus on a value part..... best guess.
     
  20. Sabastian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Oh no Dave come on "yes"...!!?? argh.. That would be a surprise if the RV350 had a 256bit bus.

    EDIT: A rather nice surpirse at that. But the rumors that I have read say that the R300 core was heavily striped back to about 75 million transistors and I simply would assume that since it is a value part with considerably less complexity it would be on a 128bit bus...but that may be a horribly mistaken assumption. "yes" what... come on man.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...