Minor problems with the new rig

Otto Dafe

Regular
So I just put together the new rig: X2 3800+/1900xt, it's distinctly better than the old 1333c/GF2 mx I've been wrangling for the past 2 months. I gotta say I'm most pleased by how quiet it is, sure the video card is terrifying: it's comfortable at 90C and it weighs more than my cat, but I've never seen the fan over 50%, it's really not too bad. I was going to hold out for core 2 price drops and whatnot, but the PCI bus on the old board was misbehaving and losing data on the hard drives, and Gothic 3, Medieval 2, etc... Anyway, it's actually running and stable without further cash infusion--a first for me--particularly surprising in this instance as it's running on a $20 power supply (muahaha, madness!). But of course there are a few minor irks I'd like to iron out if possible:

1. Fan Speed: The stock cpu fan (a corner I may regret cutting) runs ~3200 rpm all the time, unless I kill the case exhaust fan and put the side on the case, which will kick it up to ~4200. What's irritating about this is that it's utterly indifferent to the state of the CPU, with prime95 torturing both cores the CPU temp tops out at 60C...CPU fan? 3200 rpm--but, with the CPU idling at 38, if the case is closed with no exhaust fan--4200. First of all let me express my abject derision for this sort of behavior, but beyond that, what is going on? I assume the temp sensor controlling the fan is a diode hanging off it's power cord (which is stupid). Anyone know details about this fan, I think they're the same from 3000+-4200+. Is there any way to get control of the sucker?