Mercury puts Cell processor on a PCI-E card

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by ps2xboxcube, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. ps2xboxcube

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    http://www.techreport.com/onearticle.x/10463

     
  2. Platon

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Sweden
    If I sale my car, and take a second loan, then maybe I can afford it:smile: ...
     
  3. PiNkY

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    4
    does this include a gpu or what's up with the ddr2 memory?
     
  4. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    113
  5. Npl

    Npl
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    6
    1GB seems to be the limit of what you can do with current XDR-Rams & Cell. The DDR2 should act as additional Memory via some kind of Northbridge over FlexIO.
     
  6. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409
    Likes Received:
    15,868
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    It might be cost. 4 GB DDR2 is going to be lot cheaper than 4 GB XDR.
     
  7. Npl

    Npl
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    6
    Look at the price, do you really think 4GB XDR would make any difference :smile:
    There is a limit how much XDR-Chips you can put on each of the 2 Channels (linked serially), apart from each additional chip potentially driving up latency. I`d have to read up for details.
     
  8. SPM

    SPM
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    16
    You can also connect together two Cell chips with 1GB XDR RAM each to get a 2GB NUMA 2 CPU system with the 2GB available to both of the two processors, or with a bit of extra logic, connect four Cell chips with 1GB XDR RAM each to get a 4GB NUMA 4 CPU system etc.
     
  9. ChryZ

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    €UROP€
    From zee german IT news site heise.de :

    http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/76293

    - the card is called "Cell Accelerator Board" (short CAB)
    - the CAB is powered by Yellow Dog Linux, booting off of 32MByte flash-mem
    - the host PC can be a Linux or Windows system and will talk through an API with CAB
    - the card is only certified for HP Opteron-Workstations so far

    The rest of the article is about background infos regarding Mercurys' field of work and some known stuff about STI/Cell.
     
  10. Graham

    Graham Hello :-)
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    No one else seemed to notice, but this line set off alarm bells...

    What percentage of this is the ddr2/xdr ram?...

    I'm no expert, but can we assume at least half that is drawn by the cell?
    If the PS3 runs at 3.2ghz, not 2.8ghz, that would bump that up considerably higher? Would there be process/design differences to affect power draw?

    Then there is the RSX.. do we know it's power draw? I would imagine it is somewhere between the ~130w draw of a desktop 7900 and ~50w of the notebook 7900.

    Plus ram, bluray and power supply inefficnency...

    Given the 360 draws 160W at the plug (from what I've read), could this well mean the PS3 not only is the heaviest but also easily most power hungry console ever?

    [edit]
    I know, a heck of a lot of 'what if', but thats why I ask.
     
  11. LunchBox

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    California
    anyone know if it will help on video editing???
     
  12. Urian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have the same question, I want to put it on my MacPro.
     
  13. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409
    Likes Received:
    15,868
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    I guess it depends what you're doing. Assuming the software's there, you could read multiple compressed video streams, decode them and blend with a few effects in realtime. Trouble is it needs the software ;)
     
  14. DudeMiester

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Can you program? If not, then forget it. At this point, you'll have to write the editing algorithms yourself pretty much.
     
  15. one

    one Unruly Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Minato-ku, Tokyo
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...