Mercury MultiCore Plusâ„¢ SDK

Discussion in 'CellPerformance@B3D' started by sevanig, Aug 4, 2007.

1. sevanig

Regular

2. gokickrocks

Regular

what in matlab is so computation heavy that you are doing now?

if its computation heavy, you shouldnt be using matlab in the first place

...and what makes this turn the ps3 into a supercomputer?

#2 gokickrocks, Aug 4, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2007
  3. 22psi

Veteran

Come on, stop the madness. :lol:

4. randycat99

Veteran

I'm no math expert, but I have seen the matlab creations of others that seem to get quite hairy. Computational prowess could be quite a benefit when it comes to transformation of vast datasets, extensively iterative procedures, concurrent exploration of multiple scenarios, brute force approaches to automated parameter optimization on a particular mathematical model... These sorts of explorations are not necessarily requiring extreme precision, either (i.e, double precision performance). Single precision is quite adequate. It's just an extreme amount of math that needs be done to get from A to B.

Typically, development of mathematical models take into account what is computationally feasible for the current, available hardware of the day. So that makes it possible, that formerly prohibitive techniques/procedures/scale of data now become plausible avenues when a new level of computational capability becomes available.

#4 randycat99, Aug 4, 2007
  5. gokickrocks

Regular

dont know if you were for or against what i said from reading your post...

but the reason why i said what i did about matlab is that its an interpretive language, so things that need iterating like loops just run slow...if you need something computationally intense, you are better off creating your own app using the c++ (or whatever language you use) math libraries that are available around the web

#5 gokickrocks, Aug 4, 2007
  6. patsu

Legend