Mafia 2 demo is out!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Neb, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. Florin

    Florin Merrily dodgy
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    The colonies
    For Nvidia users, how to get proper antialiasing in the full game:

    1) Download Nvidia's SLI profile tool (and ignore that name, the tool can manipulate all Nvidia application profiles, not just for SLI).
    It can be found on this page.
    Here's a direct link.

    2) Run the tool and use the 'Export SLI Profiles' button to make a backup of your current profiles to a .txt file somewhere.

    3) Edit a copy of the file you just exported and change the Mafia entry to look like:.
    Code:
    Profile "Mafia II"
        ShowOn GeForce
        ProfileType Application
        Executable "mafia2.exe"
        Executable "mafia2_sc.exe"
        Setting ID_0x00d55f7d = 0x000d02c4
        Setting ID_0x1033cec1 = 0x00000003
        Setting ID_0x1033dcd2 = 0x00000004
        Setting ID_0x1095def8 = 0x00400005
    EndProfile
    There's also a simple text file with that attached to this post.

    4) Run the SLI profile tool and use the 'Import SLI Profiles' button to import the edited profile text file.

    5) Now go to the Nvidia Control Panel and select Manage 3D settings, Program Settings tab, select 'Mafia II' and set it up the way you want it.

    I recommend:
    Antialiasing - Mode: Override any application setting
    Antialiasing - Setting: 2x
    Antialiasing - Transparency: 4x (supersample)

    Game looks positively stunning with that :D
     

    Attached Files:

    #141 Florin, Aug 28, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2010
  2. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Likes Received:
    2,510
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    And what are the instructions to enable it on a Radeon card Florin? :|
     
  3. Florin

    Florin Merrily dodgy
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    The colonies
    As an addendum to the previous post, using the profile tool is necessary because the renaming trick that worked for the Mafia II demo doesn't work with the full version. Regardless of what executable name is used to start the game, Steam looks for and calls a mafia2.exe. So that Clive Barker's Jericho profile won't kick in.

    The relevant part of the edited Mafia II profile is the:
    Setting ID_0x00d55f7d = 0x000d02c4
    which is lifted from the Jericho profile.

    I've been using this with beta driver 259.32 but it should work fine with the latest WHQL, which is 258.96.

    In general, I may be missing something, but is everyone really playing this game with the in-game AA setting (which to me looks as good as useless)? And, I'm not sure what the point of the existance of Nvidia's original Mafia II profile is.. AA forcing just plain doesn't work without the above application compatibility setting ID.
     
  4. Florin

    Florin Merrily dodgy
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    The colonies
    Wish I knew matey, wish I knew. But still.. AA or not, it's a very pretty game :)
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Likes Received:
    2,510
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Me too buddy, me too. :(

    Total agreement, the 2xSSAA in-game helps and even without it I'd still consider the game gorgeous.
     
  6. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Game on PC looks stunning either with ingame SSAA or external MSAA/SSAA. Damn, this game makes GTAIV on my PC with highest settings look like pure crap in comparision. And all the sparks, particles bouncing and flying around in a firefight and car chase is immense and ads a lot to the athmosphere. PhysX FTW!

    At the beginning with the car ride at night I was baffled to see how many snow flake particles tehre where in the sky and how far out it was rendered. Really the screenshots shows just a fraction of it. Dayuuum!
     
  7. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Stop it Nebby ! I am a die hard Mafia fan but my life says wait for 6 mnths before playing Mafia 2. Don't weaken me like that, mate :( !

    In fact, MAFIA enjoys a cult following in India ! But I can presume 95% of the fans have played a pirated copy. Its a strange world we live in :roll: !
     
  8. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Hey ! I fished out my old copy of MAFIA ! I need MODS to conk up the Graphics !

    Links please for the best mods out there :cool: !
     
  9. Florin

    Florin Merrily dodgy
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    The colonies
    And speaking of baffled, now imagine those snow flakes particles with 3D Vision glasses :cool:
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,371
    Likes Received:
    3,626

    better road textures
    http://www.moddb.com/mods/footpath-road-mod

    Bar Beautification Mod V2.0
    http://mafiascene.com/downloads?did=476

    some performance tips :
    http://physxinfo.com/news/3628/mafia-ii-demo-tweaking-physx-performance/

    The Mafia Trees Project
    http://mafiascene.com/downloads?did=549

    High Res Car Skins Pack 1
    http://mafiascene.com/downloads?did=642
     
  11. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Was driving to fast and car lost traction gliding towards a fence and this man to avoid being killed jumped onto the fence and rapidly climbed over! :shocked:

    Also having cops running after me I jumped and climbed over a 2m high fence just to see 2 of the 3 cops do the same and the third take a way around to flank me(!). Wow, the animation system and hit detection in this game is way better than GTAIV, certainly the best I've seen. It's not just the quality but also the reactions to obstacles, both static and dynamic.
     
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Likes Received:
    2,510
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    There is an unofficial free ride mod in the wild too now, but I haven't tried it yet. :)
     
  13. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    I see modtools are soon to be released by some good people. Proably just days off for modtools with GUI for unpacking/repacking archives and editor tool(s) for binary files.
     
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Likes Received:
    2,510
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    That's enough, the community will have a field day with 'em and I expect this game to have some serious legs in thanks to the hard efforts of the mod community. :)
     
  15. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    any word on a fix for the ATI 19** series cards (blinking shadows).???
     
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Finland
    Without better thread for this - is it possible that APEX isn't PhysX related after all, but their own cloth simulation system?

    I did some benching of my own, and it seemed at first that it's clearly using multithreaded CPU solver, but once I deleted the cloths so only particle PhysX are run on High settings, the 4th core has clearly higher utilization than others.

    Is it possible it has multithreaded clothing simulation, and singlethreaded particle PhysX?

    [​IMG]

    edit:1
    the notable drops are of course caused by alt+tabbing out of Mafia2, I think I snapped the no-cloth pic faster than others
     
  17. nightshade

    nightshade Wookies love cookies!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Chapter 14 ...biggest wtf moment in the game yet !
     
  18. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Westeros
    Yeah, that was awesome.
     
  19. Skinner

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht/Rotterdam, Netherlands and Phobos
  20. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Check this out, even wind affects it (vanilla btw)!



    http://developer.nvidia.com/object/apex_clothing.html

    http://physxinfo.com/news/tag/apex/





     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...