LuxMark v1.0

Discussion in 'GPGPU Technology & Programming' started by Dade, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. Dade

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Introduction

    LuxMark is a OpenCL benchmark tool. The idea for the program was conceived in 2009 by Jromang. It was intended as a promotional tool for LuxRender (to quote original Jromang's words: "LuxRender propaganda with OpenCL"). The idea was quite simple, wrap SLG inside an easy to use graphical user interface and use it as a benchmark for OpenCL. After Anandtech adoption of SLG as OpenCL benchmark, the code was finally written.

    [​IMG]

    Features

    * Open source
    * 100% OpenCL
    * Cross platform (Linux, MacOS, Windows, etc.)
    * Complex/real world code used as GPU computing benchmark
    * Support for OpenCL GPUs-only, OpenCL CPUs+GPUs, OpenCL CPUs-only and native CPU-only benchmarking
    * Support for Interactive mode
    * Easy to run
    * Multiple scenes usable as benchmarks

    Download

    Precompiled binaries for major OS are available at http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxMark#Download

    License & Sources

    LuxMark is part of LuxRays source repository and is release under GPL license. The sources are available at http://src.luxrender.net/luxrays

    Results

    [​IMG]

    A list of results obtained with LuxMark is available at http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxMark_Results
     
  2. Man from Atlantis

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    OpenCL GPU Only = 5092
    GTX 460 1GB @950/1900/4600MHz
    [​IMG]

    Native CPU = 2393
    Q9650 @4.00GHz
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Germany
    GPU only: 1718 (HD4850, 700/993 MHz)
    CPU+GPU: 2661
    Native CPU: 1278
    OpenCL CPU: 1256

    CPU: Q6600 with 2,4 GHz, DDRII 667 MHz.
     
    #3 Arnold Beckenbauer, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2011
  4. Tahir2

    Tahir2 Itchy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,912
    Location:
    United Queendom
    GPU only: 2204 (HD5770 stock)
    CPU+GPU: 3145 (PII X4 3.4GHz)
    Native CPU: 1100
    OpenCL CPU: 1193
     
    #4 Tahir2, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2011
  5. Chabi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Hungary
    GPU only: 1154
    CPU+GPU: 2344
    OpenCL CPU: 1762
    Native CPU: 1514

    CPU: X6 1075T 3GHz
    RAM: 2x1GB 800MHz
    VGA: HD4830 512MB (640/925)
    OS: 32bit XP
     
  6. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,337
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    GPU: 8823
    Native CPU: 3337

    Core i7-920 @ 3995MHz
    GeForce GTX 570 @ 825/2100MHz
    Windows 7 x64

    The benchmark, for some reason, doesn't like Intel's OpenCL alpha driver and can't initiate execution for the OpenCL CPU path.
     
  7. Dade

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Thanks Fellix, I was interested to know how it was working on Intel OpenCL. I assume it is a problem in Intel alpha implementation because the same code works fine on AMD/NVIDIA/Apple OpenCL.
     
  8. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,337
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    The application apparently refuses to load, if the system does not have OpenCL driver installed, although there is native CPU render. It would be nice if LuxMark defaults to the native CPU path, or at least allows the user to select the benchmark mode, after start-up, so those without OCL devices or drivers to at least be able to run the native render.

    p.s.: What a beast score: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4762798&postcount=6
     
    #8 fellix, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2011
  9. GMâ„¢

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Reading, UK.
    OpenCL CPU+GPU: 15637

    CPU: Core i7-920 @ 3800MHz
    GPU: GeForce GTX 570 SLI @ Stock
    OS: Windows 7 x64
     
  10. Dade

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Is that possible ? I mean, will not Windows complain at the executable startup because of the missing OpenCL.dll dependency ?

    BTW, it is possible to compile LuxMark from the sources without any OpenCL dependecy (i.e. with only native CPU mode) by defining the LUXRAYS_DISABLE_OPENCL symbol. But you have to use 2 executables, one for plafroms with OpenCL and one where it is not available.

    That is a big number :shock:
     
  11. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    No one with HD6970?

    Then I will need to post some scores :smile:

    OpenCL GPU: 6373
    OpenCL CPU+GPU: 7727
    OpenCL CPU: 2361
    Native CPU: 2470


    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3440MHz (HTT 215MHz)
    Radeon HD6970 @930/1425
    DDR3 @1720MHz CL7
    W7 64bit


    Just to compare with fellix 4GHz run,
    OpenCL GPU: 6503
    OpenCL CPU+GPU: 8122
    OpenCL CPU: 2717
    Native CPU: 2896
    6 AMD cores not enough to catch 8 Intel threads!

    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3996MHz (HTT 222MHz)
    Radeon HD6970 @930/1425
    DDR3 @1776MHz CL7
    W7 64bit
     
    #11 Lightman, Mar 3, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 3, 2011
  12. pcchen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,645
    Location:
    Taiwan
    In theory, it's possible to load OpenCL.dll dynamically and use GetProcAddress for entry points. However, that seems to be pretty redundant because OpenCL.dll itself is doing the same thing for the ICD!

    Personally I think Khronos should release an universal ICD for everyone to use, even those without an OpenCL implementation (to at least allow programs which uses but not require OpenCL to work).

    By the way, an easier way to handle this is to make multiple executable and use a loader which detects whether OpenCL.dll is available and then run the executable.
     
  13. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,337
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    I think the renderer is quite sensitive to the cache sub-system. Both for CPUs and GPUs.
    Also it loves concurrent threading, looking at the HT-enabled CPU scores.
    G92 is particularly bad here. I guess the register pressure is too much for its wimpy RF size and can't sustain enough threads.
     
  14. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    621
    Location:
    Indiana
    HD6970 crossfire stock

    OpenCL GPU: 12646
    OpenCL CPU+GPU 12020

    No those are not backwards, I actually got a lower score using both GPU and CPU.
     
  15. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    What CPU?
     
  16. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    621
    Location:
    Indiana
    Q9450 @ 3.2
     
  17. seeker010

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    have both nvidia and amd gpu, but luxmark only detects nvidia gpu. any reason for this?
     
  18. pcchen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,645
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I guess (just a speculation, as I don't have a mixed GPU system anymore) it's because your OpenCL.dll is from either one (NVIDIA or AMD) and is not compatible with the other one's OpenCL ICD, as NVIDIA's OpenCL ICD is 1.0 and AMD's is 1.1.

    You may want to check the version of your OpenCL.dll in your system directory, and try replacing it with the one from the other GPU's driver (and remember to backup the old ones to be safe), although if the two ICDs are imcompatible with each other, this probably wouldn't help at all.
     
  19. seeker010

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    thanks for the reply. I couldn't find ati's opencl.dll, but I did some checking

    the opencl registry entry under in HKLM\software\Khronos has the list of all the opencl dlls for each gpu vendor. changing from 0 to 1 disables the specific vendor dll.
     
  20. Chabi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Hungary
    gpu caps viewer:

    cpu: opencl 1.1 - gpu: opencl 1.0

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [/quote]
     

Share This Page

Loading...