Larrabee, console tech edition; analysis and competing architectures

Squilliam

Beyond3d isn't defined yet
Veteran
Supporter
If you want to referrence it, the thread is here
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=46393

It seems like a perfect match of interests between the two companies. Intel wants to break into the GPU market to stave off the GPGPU threat and increase market share. Microsoft has control over the direct x specification on the P.C, and can leverage developer support between the two markets. In addition to this, microsoft can make direct x 11 specification favourable to Intel. *Look what happened to Nvidia when they got kept out of the direct x 9 specification. Ati 9700 pro*

The release date also seems to coincide with a range of estimated release dates for the Xbox 3. Now im no expert, it does seem like Larry* will be a good fit for a console cpu, following Sony's lead on the cell.

Now the chip will be expensive, but I can see Intel giving microsoft as they have mutually benificial perks to bring to the table.

Does this make sense or am I just blowing smoke?

I was going to suggest the same thing in that thread - except maybe it could be a frankenPU that's some combination of Nehalem + Larrabee. Or maybe a couple or 3 Larrabees, because I can't see a single Larrabee being much use for the entire console. And I see the motivations as Intel wanting to take control of D3D before killing it off. Succeeding where NVidia failed.

I don't see Intel doing anything to D3D11 though, that's gotta be pretty much done and dusted - it's less than a year away in theory.

So, really it's just a question of whether there'll be a D3D13.

Jawed

I agree its a good match of interests, and only xbox fits the bill.

Larabee doesnt need to influence DX for it to work in consoles, more like DX10/11 has influenced some of the fixed functionality (or at least design principles in 1st gen Larabee)