Intels new HEDT (LGA 2066, Skylake-X, Kaby Lake-X)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Kaotik, Jun 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    So, Intel revealed at Computex their new LGA 2066 -platform and CPUs to accompany it.
    And it's a mess.

    Kaby Lake-X are the exact same as Kaby Lakes only fitted for LGA 2066 instead of LGA 1151, and iGPU fused off (but still on silicon).
    They support 2 memory channels, so 2-4 slots (depending on if the motherboard has 4 or 8 slots) per motherboard apparently won't work at all.
    They support 16 PCIe lanes, so some of the PCIe slots won't apparently work either.

    Skylake-X is split into two: LCC aka Low Core Count and HCC aka High Core Count.
    LCC's are 6 to 12 cores, 4 memory channels and 28 PCIe lanes for 6- and 8-core models, 44 for 10- and 12-cores. Intel hasn't specified 12-core versions clocks, caches or TDP yet. Intel hasn't specified release dates for all of the models yet apparently either (6-10 cores Q2, no word about 12-core)
    HCC's are 14 to 18 cores, 4 memory channels and 44 PCIe lanes. Intel hasn't specified any clocks, TDP, release dates or anything for any of the models yet. Asus rep slipped that 18-core version won't actually be even released until next year. edit: ASUS rep has edited his post to say "later this year" instead. https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?93632-Late-June&p=653561&viewfull=1#post653561

    LGA 2066 platform has great new feature: Bootable NVMe RAID from the CPU.
    Except that it's only RAID 0 by default. Getting RAID 1 and 10 means you have to buy physical key which costs $99. Getting RAID 5 means getting another physical key which costs around $300. And you actually need Intel-branded NVMe SSDs for it to work at all.

    Video with lot of the same info:


    edit: fixed small mistakes I made tired last night
     
    #1 Kaotik, Jun 4, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2017
    Cyan, BRiT, ToTTenTranz and 1 other person like this.
  2. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,665
    Likes Received:
    4,327
    If you buy a motherboard with Intel's latest chipset (X299) and a CPU with Intel's latest CPU architecture (Kaby Lake) and then buy 8 sticks of RAM, half of the RAM will be unavailable.
    And to top this, if you fill out the PCI-Express slots with 2 high-end graphics cards + soundcard + NVMe solution, there's a large chance a couple of those won't even work.


    This will be entertaining to watch.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    Why ?
     
  4. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    KabyLake-X HEDT has only dual channel memory controller, but uses same motherboards as Skylake-X HEDT. These motherboards are designed for quad channel memory. Half of the memory slots are disabled in dual channel mode, meaning that you need to buy fewer & bigger memory chips for KabyLake-X. And you can't equip as much memory as other HEDT chips.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  5. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    thanks that narrows it down a bit but why are half the slots disabled
    Surely the thing to do is if the board has 8 slots but the cpu only supports dual channel memory run the 8 slots in dual channel mode 4x2
    If the cpu has a quad channel controller run 8 slots in 2x4, why do they need to be disabled ?
    unless the dual channel cpu's for some reason only support a maximum of 4 slots ?
     
    #5 Davros, Jun 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2017
  6. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    That's how it goes, CPUs support two DIMM per channel, or three DIMMs per channel if using registered memory and the latter isn't supported on consumer CPU nor even Xeon E3 either.

    And with three DIMMs per channel (e.g. you have single socket 2011-3 motherboards with twelve slots able to support a truly big amount of memory) you even have an official speed restriction e.g. on Haswell E5 Xeon, you drop down to DDR4 1866 plus the small performance penalty from using registered memory.
     
    #6 Blazkowicz, Jun 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2017
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    and only 2 channels ?
    and if thats the case if you have a cpu that supports 4 dimms per channel and only put in 2 dimms doesnt it run in dual channel
    so if intel make all the new cpu's support 4 dimms per channel that would solve the problem of unusable slots yes ?
     
  8. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    Motherboards assign certain slots to certain channels
    X299 has Channels 0/1/2/3 and 1 or 2 slots for each channel (depending on if there's 4 or 8 slots total).
    With Kaby Lake-X you can fill Channel 0 & 1 slots, with Skylake-X you can fill all 4 channels.

    Z170 has Channels 0/1 and 1 or 2 slots for each channel (depending on if there's 2 or 4 slots total).
    If you put all your DIMMs in Channel 0 or 1 you'll run in single channel mode, if you put DIMMs in both channel slots you'll run dual channel mode.
    (and same for X299, if you have 8 slots and put in only 2 DIMMs and place them both in Channel 0 slots, you'll run in single channel mode etc)
     
    Cyan likes this.
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    the way you explain it kaotik
    its not about x299
    kabylake only supports 4 dimms while skylake supports 8 - yes ?
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    They both support 2 DIMMs per channel, so 4 and 8, but it's also about the motherboard - the motherboard has 4 channels and 1 or 2 slots per channel, with Kaby Lake-X half of the slots simply won't work
     
    BRiT likes this.
  11. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,525
    Likes Received:
    2,242
    Intel is a whorehouse right now
     
  12. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,665
    Likes Received:
    4,327
    I think successful prostitutes are less likely to deceive their customers and get away with it.
     
    Alexko, Lightman and Cyan like this.
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    Intel engineer gave interview about the new Basin Falls -platform
     
    Malo, Gubbi, swaaye and 3 others like this.
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    which means Kaby-X only supports 2 channels - yes ?
    2 channels, 2 slots per channel = 4 dimms - yes ?
     
  15. tunafish

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    163
    If the motherboard has 8 slots, then yes. However, since you lose quite a lot of ram speed at the top end if you use two dimms per channel, some quad channel motherboards in the past have only had a single slot per channel. On such a motherboard and with a Kaby-X, only 2 of the memory slots are usable.
     
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    as @tunafish said, 4 dimms if the motherboard has 8 slots. If the motherboard has 4 slots, you only have 1 slot per channel and thus can use only 2 dimms on kaby-x
     
    BRiT likes this.
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    hang on if you only had 1 slot per channel then you'd have a cpu running single channel memory no one would make a motherboard like that
     
  18. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Now you see the frustration that the motherboard makers have with this platform.
     
  19. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,036
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Finland
    No you wouldn't, you could have dual channel with Kaby Lake-X (channels 0 & 1) and quad channel with Skylake-X (channels 0, 1, 2 & 3)
    Motherboard designed for 2 memory channels and 4 slots (for example Z270+Kaby Lake):
    Channel 0 | Channel 0 | Channel 1 | Channel 1 (this is why with 2 DIMMs you leave 1 slot in between them - also there could be mobos where it goes 0101 but they're rare these days, if not extinct)
    Motherboard designed for 4 memory channnels and 4 slots (for example X299 with 4 slots)
    Channel 0 | Channel 1 | Channel 2 | Channel 3
    Motherboard designed for 4 memory channnels and 8 slots (for example X299 with 8 slots)
    Channel 0 | Channel 1 | Channel 2 | Channel 3 | Channel 0 | Channel 1 | Channel 2 | Channel 3

    Kaby Lake-X can use channels 0 and 1, Skylake-X channels 0, 1, 2 and 3
     
  20. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,712
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    which you are now contradicting with your quote below see why im getting confused

     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...