Intel X3000 V IMG SGX

tangey

Veteran
With the recent announcement of collaboration between Intel an IMG in graphics, I took to comparing Intels latest X3000 graphics accelerator (as found in the 965 chipset), with what is publicly available about SGX.

I'm not a graphics expert, however even though X3000 is not IMG technology, the headline feature sets, and wording of the underlying architecture is amazingly similar, suggesting that Intel are already using some of the same methodolgies and techniques that IMG also use in SGX.

The similarities I've seen are:

X3000
The Intel® GMA 3000 family graphics engine consists of a programmable array of symmetric execution units to process graphics and video data threads.
SGX
....These tasks are automatically broken down into processing packets which are then scheduled across a number of multi-threaded execution units in the USSE

X3000
The Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3000 architecture is programmable and fixed function technology balanced to achieve high flexibility and performance for graphics and video applications. The Intel® Graphics Media accelerator 3000 engine consists of programmable array
of symmetric processing components nows as execution units (EUs).
The Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3000 family is multi-functional and can easily switch between executing graphics-related tasks or video related tasks. The array of EUs can dynamically
switch to process either graphics threads (for both vertex and pixel processing) or video threads (decode and post-processing) depending on the application being processed.
SGX
The programmable architecture allows acceleration of other multimedia related tasks (e.g., image processing). This universal approach to processing uses a single programming model with one compiler, reducing hardware and software qualification time.

X3000