Intel offering returns on 520 SSD

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by swaaye, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
  2. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    272
    Just goes to show that they test their products to a far greater degree than anyone else.

    They do mention that a new spin of the controller should rectify the problem though, so perhaps it is only Intel's implementation of the chip?
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,893
    Likes Received:
    2,311
    Do other makers use this controller, are they offering refunds ?
     
  4. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    807
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Doesn't apply to me, I don't care about the built-in encryption.
     
  5. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Not unless Anandtech's got it entirely wrong; as I recall from reading about this last night it's a hardware bug. If it wasn't a hardware bug, a firmware update could have solved it without a need to respin the chip...

    From what I understood, the encryption algorithm doesn't provide a diverse enough encryption result, and instead bunching up the data in a certain range/ranges of numbers, making the data easier to crack.

    Not sure why this wasn't noticed before. Maybe it was, and sandforce shut the fuck up about it... Wouldn't be the first time really with that company. You'd think they'd analyze the results of their own hardware algorithm, beyond just making sure it doesn't cause data corruption.
     
  6. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Tech Report posted that other companies are planning to let people return or swap.

    Apparently the AES 128 level works fine. This makes the bugged chip on par with other controllers that don't support AES 256.
     
  7. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Ironically, AES-256 doesn't seem to be more secure than AES-128 (because AES-192 and AES-256 use a relatively simpler key scheduling algorithm). There are attacks which work for AES-192 and AES-256 but not for AES-128.
     
  8. Man from Atlantis

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    6
    hmm they dont recall 330 but 520, so it's intel only problem? or they did not advertise AES256 for 330 hence they dont recall it..
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...