Inq: Nvidia drops the NV40 and readies the NV45

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by hiostu, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. hiostu

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if someone posted this in another thread. But it seems nvidia is a bit startled by the R420 and is going to move to the NV45 sooner than expected.

    Source: Theinquirer

    edit: it seems this has already been posted in the r420 thread.
     
  2. AndrewM

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    I think this has been expected/rumored for some time now. the Inq sucks!
     
  3. 991060

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Beijing
    Isn't NV45 just the PCI-E version NV40?
     
  4. hiostu

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but accourding to the inquirer nvidia would be adding more pipelines to the NV45 design. But I don't know if it was already planned that way.
     
  5. MuFu

    MuFu Chief Spastic Baboon
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Location, Location with Kirstie Allsopp
    0.11u then? :)
     
  6. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,294
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    You asking or telling? ;) :lol:

    I'm thinking it's one of them rhetorical question-thingies that I ain't 'sposed to answer....
     
  7. Ante P

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    This rumour is bullshit from what I've heard (from a source a "little bit" more reliable than the INQ ;) )
     
  8. LeGreg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    3
    If the Inq has not a new story about nv4x or r4xx every two days
    they are dead.
    Apparently that's the only thing that matters to them. Don't worry about the quality of info ;)
     
  9. MuFu

    MuFu Chief Spastic Baboon
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Location, Location with Kirstie Allsopp
    Well I dunno... there's certainly some good info there. You just need to sift through a lot of bad English and dodgy speculation to get to it.

    They're almost spot-on about R420 and IIRC were the first to break the news that R300 had production qualified at 325MHz, for example.
     
  10. LeGreg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    3
    i'm sorry I don't know what "spot on" means ? (english as a second or third language)

    Are you saying that their hesitations and uturns about the rxxx architecture are what should be taken as a reliable info ?
     
  11. MuFu

    MuFu Chief Spastic Baboon
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Location, Location with Kirstie Allsopp
    They're saying it has 16 pipelines and will ship with 12 enabled, which is correct.
     
  12. dan2097

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think this came up in the other R420 speculation thread but would you hypothetically be able to enable the 4 possibly disfunctional pipes using a hardware/software/bios mod?
     
  13. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    One would think this would give ATI some decent ability to stockpile "working" 16 pipeline chips for either a refresh part, or just to release a Radeon RE ("Reviewer Edition" ;) ) part to be an "nvidia spolier".

    I'd be curious to know if they won't be shipping 16 pipeline versions (at least initially) due to very poor yields with 4 working quads "at speed", or power consumption starts to become a real headache.
     
  14. tEd

    tEd Casual Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    switzerland
    seriously why? If it has 16pipelines why not use it.

    me confused
     
  15. Ante P

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    if there's a 16 pipe part it might work

    all existing mods are based on the fact that there's actually 8 pipe versions of the 4 functional pipe you're trying to "unlock"
     
  16. rwolf

    rwolf Rock Star
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Canada

    They are more reliable than Mufu (the R420 has eight uber pipelines).
     
  17. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,294
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Ah, Dr. DeFurious guessed the secret plan! :twisted:

    I don't know if it's the bleach fumes from cleaning my kitchen floor or a true vision-o-thangs-to-come, but I picture this new rumor and the 12 of 16 pipes as true and I see the R420 coming out a couple of months before the nV40 minimum and then when the 16x1 nV40 comes out ATi will put out all the stockpiled 16 pipe cards as a special edition/refresh-bump and it'll be a damned close contest 'tween those two. 8)
     
  18. LeGreg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    3
    You aren't working for the Inq, are you ?
     
  19. MuFu

    MuFu Chief Spastic Baboon
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Location, Location with Kirstie Allsopp
    Yeah, definitely. But they should be, shouldn't they? I'm suprised that the 8 "EXTREME" pipelines misinformation never reached them.

    Personally, I think they never intended it to work with 16 pipelines enabled - a 12-pipe architecture with redundant elements to account for the fact that it's a big-ass, mass-produced ASIC. "Design-for-failure", if you like; not exactly a new concept. I posted some speculation in the other thread:

    It would, however, be awesome if you could enable the 4th quad pipe with a hack. :cool:
     
  20. CyFactor

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    It certainly opens the doors to the possibility of a fall refresh part with 16 fully functional pipelines though, doesn't it?

    And if ATI didn't think they'd yield enough at 16, what makes nVidia think they can yield a full 16 in production quantities, especially given all of their yield problems over the last year or so, without redundancy? Unless that explains the alleged 210 million logic transistors = redundancy.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...