Image Quality and Framebuffer Analysis for Available Games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Ruskie

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Hmm i would not exactly say that...360 shoot is frame buffer capture,and ps3 shoot is off screen shoot.That should improve AA quite a lot on ps3 version but from here it looks to me that it also has no aa,maybe its taken from SDTV.Will wait for official DF article to pop out.
    Anyway,played 360 version of the game for about an hour or so and game is simply an visual achievement...you will have to look hard to find better looking game on consoles(couple of exclusives),and other open world games dont even compare...Texture quality is almost mindblowing for open world game and the detail they put in it is very impressive...

    I also havent notice jaggies or significant frame drops,its very smooth.
     
  2. Trejser

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    So PS3 version is 540p confirmed? Huge step back from 640p...
     
  3. Antan

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    912
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Nothings confirmed. I`d say it still runs at 640P but with improvements in other areas.
     
  4. NRP

    NRP
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,681
    How can you say it's a "huge step back" without seeing the final game? Perhaps the game looks better overall at 540p with added visual effects than it would at 640p without some (or all) of those effects? Why do some of you seem to oversimplify things, when any sensible person should know it's a complicated balancing act?
     
  5. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
  6. AlNets

    AlNets ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    17,859
    Location:
    Polaris
    640 vertical
     
  7. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    And horizantal?

    Could you describe it as "640p" or is it not the right full resolution for that?
     
  8. AlNets

    AlNets ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    17,859
    Location:
    Polaris
    Haven't found any good edges to examine the horizontal res. Anyways, if by "#p" you mean a 16:9 pixel resolution, you'll not get a whole number horizontal with 640 vertical.
     
  9. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    OK, but the total number of pixels in GTA4 is equivalent to 640p? Or no? What would you expect the horizontal to be if the vertical is 640? Same as GTA4? PS. You're certain on the 640 vertical?
     
  10. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    France
    yes 640p like GTA4
    horizontal seem the same than GTA4 too
     
    #972 Quaz51, May 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2010
  11. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    France
    GTA4 (and probably RDR) is little more than 640p, it's 1152x640 (644p equivalent :) )
     
  12. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Interesting - gets a little confusing doesn't it! Which screenshot did you use to come up with 640 vertical?
     
  13. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,010
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Actually so totally not confusing! It's exactly like GTA IV, as expected.
     
  14. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    France
    no confusing, it's 640 vertical
     
  15. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    I know I know. Just when you say 640, you expect 640p, but it's 644p =) It makes perfect sense when you understand what's being talked about.
     
  16. xgen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
  17. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Location:
    NGC2264
  18. nightshade

    nightshade Interwebz Hijacker !
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I'll agree in that FC2 has considerably more detailed textures, RDR has the liberty of being a TPS. And anything from bad to avg looks great for a TPS while for an FPS it needs to have above avg textures to even get noticed as good.

    With that said, RDR doesn't has a very aggressive LOD system, its quite efficient in masking pop ups & the view distance is phenomenal/insanse ! But on the other hand most of the area are almost empty with nothing but cactus & small shrubs everywhere. If someone asked me then I'd put both of them at the same level, both have their pros & cons (why must we always have to choose ? :p)
     

Share This Page

Loading...