I can't be a exchange student...

For as long as I want :( I'm studying Japanese language and I went there last summer for a summer course for one month and I really, really liked it. Before going there I was not sure what to think of it but it turned out to be a very positive experience. It's the only time in my life I really felt sad and bad about having to leave.

So I want to go back. Next year I will be going back for 6 months in a exchange program which my uni has with with our japanese teachers (basically, that japanese uni sends over 4 japanese language teachers (they are students too, so all in our age group, 18 to 25 or so) each year as part of their education) and we send 8 back. Yes 8. The japense people get send over here for 1 year but because our uni isn't capable of securing enough spots at japanese uni's we get send over 6 months so our uni can send double the students.

But I want to go a year because 6 months is short. Basically private schools are the only alternative that my uni will accept but I can't afford it. The 6 months, well actually 5 but after that is summer vacation so I will stay a month longer, will cost 5000 euro's according to uni so I already managed to set aside 7000 euro's because I plan to do more than walk everywhere and live on water and bread. But private schools are freakin' expensive! around 10k is what I will need for a 6 month term and that is the minimum recommended. I can only manage to put together around 7500 euro by that time so I'm 3 to 4k short :(

I feel double bad because it also means the chance that I can find a internship in Japan for the year after next year will be even smaller than it already is because I will have even less time to make connections. Uni has a few spots available but I can probably not apply for them so I have to find something myself which is somewhere between very damn hard and next to impossible. Certainly if you don't know anybody to help you.