How to connect a PS3 to a computer monitor.

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by babcat, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. babcat

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hello Everyone,

    In the not too distant future I hope I may be getting a PS3. However, I'm interested in learning exactly what I need to do to connect it to my VGA computer monitor.

    This is a link to my computer monitor.

    http://www.viewsonic.com/support/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/aseries/a90fplus/

    Now, I saw this on EBAY....

    12' Python component video VGA to 3 RCA adapter cable

    http://cgi.ebay.com/12-Python-compo...ryZ64631QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    However, it says in big writing that it would not work with a computer monitor.

    Basically, what I need to know is will using only a simple component to VGA cable allow me to play PS3 games on my computer monitor or do I also have to purchase some type of "box" too?

    I'm totally confused about this. I'm not at all a hardware person.

    By the way, I have searched the internet about this and cannot find a solid answer anywhere.

    If anyone would help me I would appreciate it. Please remember I'm a laymen and I'm new to all this stuff.

    Thank you for any help you can provide.
     
  2. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I think you will find yourself out of luck with that CRT. Sony says they have no plans to support VGA.

    To convert from compoent video (YPrPb) to VGA (rgbhv) you will need a signal adaptor not just a cable. And it will be expensive.

    Here is one but its $324
    http://sewelldirect.com/component-to-vga.asp

    You going to be much better off just buying a new DVD-D/HDCP supporting computer monitor. For example, one of these: Dell 2007WFP $399. You'll only get 720p out of this one from your PS3, but people say its a nice LCD.
    link
     
  3. almighty

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ur best bet would be a HDMI to DVI convertor TBH. Its no good using the 3 RCA to VGA if you dont know what colour the sync is on, although it would more then likely be green.

    Somthing like this...

    [​IMG]

    If that does'nt work then try looking for a slightly more expensive option.
     
  4. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo

    His CRT does not support DVI. It only has a Dsub-15 VGA connector. And even if he had one that supported DVI, he would need one that supports HDCP as well which you only see in new montiors. You'll never see it on a old CRT.
     
  5. Oninotsume

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Japan
    http://www.mayflash.com/vgabox/vga001/vga001.htm

    I've got one of these for my RGB D-15 only CRT. The one I purchased was made just before this one, so it only supports up to 1080i, but both 1080i and 720P run with absolutely no problems.

    I suggest giving it a try.
    It cost me around \3,000 yen, I image less than 15 pounds(?).
     
  6. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,092
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    That's great to know. This should go into a FAQ somewhere ...
     
  7. babcat

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    45
    Thanks to everyone who has responded!

    Is the general consensus that this

    http://www.mayflash.com/vgabox/vga001/vga001.htm

    would be all I need to hook a PS3 to my VGA computer monitor?

    I'm very thankful to everyone who is willing to share advice and direct me in these matters. I very rarely do anything hardware related and I'm very clueless when it comes to compatibility matters.

    By the way, my money is very tight so I don't want to purchase the wrong thing.
     
  8. ADEX

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Here
    A quick googling finds it is sold for £54 in the UK.
     
  9. infinity4

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    5
    if you have hdcp supporting monitor with dvi then.... 720p would be 1280 x 720 if monitor supports letterboxing???
     
  10. patataboy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is a great item you got there, can I ask you where did you bought it, 'cuz I am currently living in Tokyo and I am looking for an adaptator to put my PS3 on my VGA monitor.

    Thanks
     
  11. Nick Laslett

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    I brought a number of the earlier version of this adaptor from Lik Sang.

    I used them for connecting the Xbox and PS2 to VGA monitors. They worked very well.

    The earlier version only did up to 720p.
     
  12. Oninotsume

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Japan
    Sorry for my late reply. I haven't been looking at this board lately.

    I purchased my adaptor via www.yahoo.co.jp Yahoo Auctions. There doesn't appear to be that particular one on their now, but you may be able to find a similar device by scouring around or checking out Akihabara, etc.

    Some other things about the converter I forgot to mention.
    1. It comes with a little adaptor so you can plug in your component Audio leads into either a L R speaker lead, or a headphone jack.
    2. It doesn't support 480i. This doesn't really matter, because for some reason PS1/PS2 games appear fine on the PS3 = Upscaling to 480P? However, if you are into using Linux you'll have to do the initial setup on a normal TV.
    3. It has to be plugged in, so you're going to need another outlet.
    4. It doesn't adjust the size of the screen accordingly, so you'll have to leave that up to your monitor if it's automatic, or change the H and V size manually. I had to do this, but it worked out alright.

    That's about it. Good luck.

    Oninotsume
     
  13. cuib

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about a VGA transcoder? Neoya and Vdigi both sell these at around $55. I used both on my Xbox, worked well with some minor issues such as somewhat washed out colors (that might be a VGA issue in general though). Both convert component to VGA so you'd still need the PS3 component video cable, unless they have PS3 bundles already.

    Since they work on progressive scan dvd players I assume they'd work fine on a PS3.
     
  14. gokickrocks

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    1
    although mine is different than the one previously posted, i got mine from http://www.vdigi.com/ ...im unsure if it works with the ps3, so make sure to ask them before you consider purchasing
     
  15. kyleb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,165
    Likes Received:
    52
    Converting interlaced fields to progressive frames isn't upscaling, it is deinterlacing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...