How to change DPI for one program (windows 10)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by zed, May 2, 2020.

  1. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,736
    Likes Received:
    856
    Pulling my hair out on this, theres bugger all info on the internet about it.
    Theres info but its very badly explained

    I run windows at 150% which suits most things
    Unreal engine is an exception, its toylike design just screams make me smaller, Im constantly moving windows around cause 4k aint enuf (Epic must run the thing on 8k monitors I assume) how can I run this program (and only this program at 125%)

    cheers zed
     
    #1 zed, May 2, 2020
    Last edited: May 2, 2020
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,831
    Likes Received:
    3,021
  3. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,736
    Likes Received:
    856
    Thanks, all well and good, but I assume that scales everything to 125%. So if I'm flicking between 2 apps, one at 150% and one at 125% then it wont work
    Surely MS a trillion dollar company has solved this issue
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,831
    Likes Received:
    3,021
    You want the moon on a stick
     
  5. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    823
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    DPI scaling factor is a per-display setting in Windows 10. There is no way to set DPI scaling for each individual window - rather legacy applications (Win32 User/GDI) have to be programmed to query DPI settings and scale their controls and fonts accordingly.

    https://blogs.windows.com/windowsde...ktop-applications-windows-10-creators-update/
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...pi-desktop-application-development-on-windows
    https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/5990-change-dpi-scaling-level-displays-windows-10-a.html
     
    #5 DmitryKo, May 2, 2020
    Last edited: May 3, 2020
    pharma, Malo and BRiT like this.
  6. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,577
    Likes Received:
    7,127
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Sounds like he'll need a dedicated monitor for each app. :p
     
  7. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,292
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    IIRC there used to be a different setting that allows old apps (like photoshop and unreal) to run at different scaling than windows and new apps (UWP and new win32 apps). I can no longer find the option tho. Maybe it was removed?
     
  8. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    823
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    You cannot override the scaling factor defined in per-monitor (or global) system settings. You can only change the upscaling mode with Override high DPI scaling behavior setting on each apllication's Compatibility tab (since version 1703).

    Or rather one monitor which can accomodate all applications. Those big-screen 4K UHD monitors look great for GUI scaling, and a few of them support HDR10.
     
    #8 DmitryKo, May 3, 2020
    Last edited: May 4, 2020
    TheAlSpark and BRiT like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...