HDMI To Vga Cable Whats the point

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Davros, Mar 14, 2020.

  1. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,499
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    I recently bought one because I wanted to try LucidLogix Virtu GPU Virtualization It didnt work, upon research I discovered that hdmi does not output any type of analog signal whatsoever so not only did the cable not work but there is no way it could possibly work - so what is the point of making such a cable in the first place?
     
  2. nutball

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    en.gb.uk
    They usually have some circuitry embedded in one end to perform the digital to analogue conversion.
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  3. BRiT

    BRiT Verified (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,191
    Likes Received:
    11,753
    Location:
    Cleveland
    There was a point about 10 - 8 years ago when Legacy TV sets lacked HDMI while other consumer devices required HDCP to play anything above 480p. Now everything has HDMI instead so the need has lessened. Anyone who needed such a device typically picked up the HDFury. It had options to convert HDMI to Component.
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,499
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    Sorry brit but there wasnt a point to to a cable with hdmi one end and dsub on the other, it can not possibly work
    If your going to claim it was to connect to a converter then it makes no sense for a hdmi to vga converter to expect vga input
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT Verified (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,191
    Likes Received:
    11,753
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Oh. I see what you're getting at now.
    Yes. HDMI is not like DVI, where some of the DVI pins carry the Analog signal.
     
  6. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,870
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Yeah, and really useful for doing presentations in governments, their projectors are ancient
     
    digitalwanderer and Lightman like this.
  7. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,469
    Likes Received:
    1,922
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I had a friend who had an old Dell that had onboard video and VGA and DP out. His VGA port borked out and he wanted to know if there was a DP to VGA adapter and to my surprise there was. Turns out he wasn't the only one with a problem like that, I had no clue they existed or why they'd need to.

    Found an HDMI to VGA one by the same folks, and it's even cheaper!

    Stupid things, but damned useful stupid things when you run in to some ancient technology like how Orangpelupa mentioned. Also did not know they made USB to video outs, we live in odd times. :|
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,499
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    that works because its active it has an actually digital to analog chip in it (it wont do analog to digital)
    I have something similar for displayport to dvi (eyefinity required that the displayport adapter had to be active) dont think nv surround has the same limitation
    I will probably end up buying a hdmi to dvi adapter since there is no need for an analog conversion and a passive adapter should work
    monitors have vga+dvi-d
    graphics card has dvi-d+displayport+hdmi
     
    #8 Davros, Mar 15, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2020
    digitalwanderer and orangpelupa like this.
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,499
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    I decided to connect via hdmi to dvi-d since no analog conversion is needed
    according to nvidia an active adaptor is not required for nv surround
    So I bought one of these (interestingly its now £3.98 up from £2.99 a few hours earlier when i ordered it - result ;) )
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    It's also very popular with people upgrading to Vista ;)
    [​IMG]

    Since i was there i decided to order a few other cables I needed
    Pci-e 8pin extension - just for aesthetics it looks a lot neater than the 2x 6+2 pin cable I'm currently using especially for a gfx card that only needs an 8pin connection
    [​IMG]

    And finally I bought a displayport cable, a bit on the expensive side but it does come with a free hat
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,499
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    So My cable arrived and it works fine in windows desktop, but as soon as i click on surround spanning options and the put a tick in the span displays with surround in nvidia control panel
    the control panel disappears.
    This appears in event viewer :

    Faulting application name: nvcplui.exe, version: 8.1.940.0, time stamp: 0x5d8935a6
    Faulting module name: nvcplui.exe, version: 8.1.940.0, time stamp: 0x5d8935a6
    Exception code: 0xc0000409
    Fault offset: 0x000000000028f8d5
    Faulting process id: 0x29f0
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d5fd59f1afd70f
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\NVIDIACorp.NVIDIAControlPanel_8.1.956.0_x64__56jybvy8sckqj\nvcplui.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\NVIDIACorp.NVIDIAControlPanel_8.1.956.0_x64__56jybvy8sckqj\nvcplui.exe
    Report Id: f04532fe-519f-4892-93d6-91a6a6c34c3b
    Faulting package full name: NVIDIACorp.NVIDIAControlPanel_8.1.956.0_x64__56jybvy8sckqj
    Faulting package-relative application ID: NVIDIACorp.NVIDIAControlPanel
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...