GTA V suddenly stopped working (won't start anymore)

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by tongue_of_colicab, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    For whatever reason that cancerous piece of shit called social club is suddenly trowing unable to initialize dx9 errors and won't start GTA5 anymore.

    I've reinstalled the game, enable/disabled the videocard, removed/reinstalled drivers, installed the dx9 redistributables that come with the game etc but no luck. Haven't done anything to my system apart from the usual windows 7 updates but I don't see how that could have broken dx9.

    All other games work fine but they are not made by Rockstar. No surprise there, rockstar has never ever released a pc game that wasn't an utter piece of shit and this again proves as much. That social club crap is the biggest piece of bullshit software even, even worse than ubishofts uNotPlay. How the asshats that created that pos aren't out of a job is beyond me.

    Rockstars support pages are ever useless but again given the quality of pc code they produce there is no surprise there either.

    Anybody have any ideas how I can fix rockstars shit? Was pretty close to the end of the game and even though I'm fed up with their crap and will never spend another penny on their shit again (shouldve done that after GTA4 already!) I would like to finish the game.
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    try a crack
     
  3. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    That isn't an option. I bought they game and I don't want to resort to cracks. By the way I don't think it's some kind of copy protection that is causing the issue. The internet is full of people having the same issue but Rockstar never fixed or got back to the people that opened support tickets.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  4. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    You didn't mention uninstalling Social Club. IIRC I once had to uninstall it and by downloading the latest version I eventually got up and running again.

    Huh. "Grand Theft Auto IV does not use this application, and no longer requires a separate Social Club app as of Patch 7."

    "For GTAV, download the launcher below:

    http://patches.rockstargames.com/prod/gtav/Launcher_EFIGS/GTA_V_Launcher_1_0_877_1.exe"

    https://support.rockstargames.com/h...nual-Link-to-Social-Club-Application-Download


     
  5. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    I haven't played GTAV in a while, it's now downloading a 1.79 GB update. Hopefully your firewall isn't blocking that.

    Edit: In case this might help: https://support.rockstargames.com/h...267-GTA-V-PC-Title-Update-1-34-Download-Error

     
    tongue_of_colicab likes this.
  6. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Did you get visited by my cats?
     
    hoom, Kej, tabs and 6 others like this.
  7. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    I use the steam version though. Did a complete redownload last night but no change. I also uninstalled social garbage but it appears the steam version requires it as it got installed along with the download.

    I'll try the suggestions from that link when I het home from work.

    Thanks.
     
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    You have to download the newest version of social club from the website and manually install it, I had that problem once.
     
    Babel-17 likes this.
  9. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    Yeah, download from the website, and not just update from the desktop. Certainly worth a try if all else fails.
     
  10. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    There is no download link to social crap on their website and the patches linked by Babel-17 are for the non-steam version.

    Apparently rockshit released a patch on the 13th, might be what is causing this bullshit. Well what did I expect? Rockshits pc "programmers" time and time again prove themselves to be a bunch of useless dumbasses.

    Another company I can put on my shit list.
     
  11. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    By the way what a bunch of Nazis. Tried logging a support ticket with them and the amount of info they want from your system is ridiculous. Submitted the crap they wanted and then get redirected to a nice page telling me that if I want to see my support tickets I should first make one :')

    What a shit company.

    I hope that take2 mod banning thing fucks them up real bad. Probably won't happen but I'm done with this company.
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  12. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    https://support.rockstargames.com/h...nual-Link-to-Social-Club-Application-Download
    http://patches.rockstargames.com/prod/socialclub/Social Club Latest Setup.exe
    That doesn't work? I'm assuming that even with the steam version you can use that, I may be wrong. Even with my non-steam version the Social Club looks integrated. I have the option to uninstall Social Club, but that might just be because I have Max Payne 3, and L.A. Noire.
    Edit: I put in the wrong link.
     
  13. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    That is the same version that comes with the steam download.

    This is the first game ever that I'm unable to play.
     
  14. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    un fucking believable. Arkham knight, never played it before, downloaded and installed and can't even boot that crap either. Rocksteady, another fucking shitty dev.

    Fuck em all. I'm done with all this fucking shit.
     
  15. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,137
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    I remember having a lot of trouble trying to get LA Noire running a few years ago. I know it had something to do with the social club crap, but can't remember exactly what I did back then to get it to run. I know it wasn't installing a newer version of it, because it had the newest version at the time.

    Not helpful, but I commiserate with your pain as I went through the same thing. Sad to see that social club thing still exists. If anything can possibly be worse than the UBIsoft launcher, this is it.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  16. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Is this your problem?

     
  17. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,495
    Likes Received:
    8,696
    Location:
    Cleveland
    This almost sounds like your system has a virus or other malware that is modifying files.
     
  18. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    And only messing with GTA? I did a malware and antivirus scan the other day but nothing was found.
     
  19. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Try the crack. If it works, then it's probably indeed the social crap that's borked

    Btw some cracked steam games will still have achievements works correctly in steam, complete with all steam features (as long as it have valid license). Dunno what will happen with gta tho.
     
  20. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    I don't want to do that.

    I'll try installing Windows 10 maybe tonight or later this week. I wanted to hold off on that a little longer but as I got to make the switch sometime anyway I might as well do it now and see if it fixes the problem.

    Still pretty pissed off about the whole thing though. I've got a lot of other crap to deal with and it would be nice if I didn't have to deal with this kind of extra bullcrap frustrations.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...