Grid Demo

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Galduta, May 9, 2008.

  1. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well., good point to compare the image quality and framerate with the numbers of Granmaster

    Update /

    Download Links:

    Gamershell.com
    http://www.gamershell.com/download_25620.shtml

    Gameboarder.com
    http://www.gameborder.com/game/Race%20Driver%3A%20GRID%20Demo/

    Gamezone
    http://downloads.gamezone.com/demos/d22178.htm

    Worthplaying.com
    http://www.worthdownloading.com/game.php?gid=3174

    Computergames Romania

    http://computergames.ro/en/downloads/viewitem/id/10824/name/race-driver-grid-demo.html

     
    #1 Galduta, May 9, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2008
  2. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,954
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I'm sorry to say it, but when I see these screens all I can think is 'yuk!'. :(

    Give me Race Driver anytime. When I actually played the game on the PS3, the only thing I liked was the shaky cam in the replay mode, and that's about it. Too bad, it had a lot of potential. But I was skeptical when it was first announced, and so far I haven't changed my mind.
     
  3. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Nice looking but way to much white and a tad blurry. Still looks better than GT5p environments (ingame play vs ingame play, that means no replay). Cars has more a FZ2 look but still looks nice, I'll give it a go.
     
  4. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    The damage is very arcade , and is mandatory a gamepad . Is very recomended a dual core ;) .

    The settings , is possible turn off the blur in this XLM file

    -
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    #4 Galduta, May 10, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2008
  5. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #5 Galduta, May 10, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2008
  6. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,954
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    That looks a lot better actually!
     
  7. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    The lasts screens are without blur , the car and the streets looks nice, but the public is a low quality . I will prefer less public with more quality - more polygons, better textures... But well , in game not is visible this , only in the replays and in the pole position .
     
  8. woundingchaney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Game runs well and looks very impressive with the effects turned up.

    Im not a big racing fan although the game does have its appeal.
     
  9. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,722
    Likes Received:
    936
    Location:
    Guess...
    That makes no sense at all. The C2D is nearly 50% faster! Why not state either a faster AXP or a slower C2D??

    Great shots btw, i'm downloading the demo now.
     
  10. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    codemasters=starforce=not getting my money.
     
  11. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    STAFORCE not is a problem ;)


    Blur no blur


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
  13. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    With blur

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  14. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    842
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    There is no StarForce in this demo, but there is Securom and it is being a bitch. It won't run if you have Process Explorer open.

    Anyway, the audio sucks. It clips constantly. I have the recommended X-Fi drivers, latest OpenAL drivers etc.

    Seems like Codemasters just screwed the pooch with regard to the levels in their audio files.
     
  15. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,722
    Likes Received:
    936
    Location:
    Guess...
    Is anyone else having trouble with the zip file? I can't seem to extract it even though I have downloaded it twice now.
     
  16. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    The extension is rar or zip . Maybe rename it the name of the file is one solution ?
     
  17. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #17 Galduta, May 10, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2008
  18. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    yay it looks like they dumped it then. I was about to buy Dirt some time ago and noticed it came with starforce so i didnt bother. The comments from a dev i read in a thread about it seemed to signify they didnt really give a damn whether people liked it or not so i figured it would be in this as well.

    So it looks like they will get my money when the game drops in price a bit.
     
  19. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,722
    Likes Received:
    936
    Location:
    Guess...
    Cheers, I finally got it working by using a different unzip programme (winziip and 7-zip weren't working).

    Anyway, its a good looking game, probably not as good as I was expecting and only on par with Dirt to be honest. Thats not necessarily a bad thing though. From the demo I would say its roughly equiivlent to PGR4.

    It does excel in 2 areas though. The first, were Dirt also excelled is presentation. The menus, options, and just about everything else aboutt he game are incredibly slick, at least as good, if not better than Dirt.

    The second is performance. This is an amazingly well optimised game which runs massively better than Dirt. My GTS640 is giving me about a 40fps average at maximum details with 16xQCSAA and 16xAF with a resolution of 1360x768!
     
  20. Kyyla

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    306
    Location:
    Finland
    Just downloaded and installed. But securom is giving me the finger: http://www.securom.com/message.asp?m=module&c=6000

    Sorry codemasters, no money from me.

    edit: just tried compatibility mode (vista32) and it worked!

    edit2: apparently it doesn't run even in compatibility mode when steam is running in the background
     
    #20 Kyyla, May 11, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...