Grape + Microwave = fireball

KimB

Legend
Just thought some of you people out there might find this a little fun :)

This is a little something I learned from another physics student back when I was an undergrad, and have tried it in a number of different microwaves. Anyway, here's the trick:

1. Cut a grape in half.
2. Place the two halves flat-side down touching one another in the microwave (I place them on a paper towel so as not to cause any permanent stains).
3. Turn microwave on for 10-15 seconds.

You should see a flame erupt at the point that the two halves of the grape are touching. The size of the flame will depend upon the microwave and the size of the grape (smaller grapes seem to do better in my experience). In microwaves with rotating tables, the flame will tend to appear and disappear depending upon the orientation and location of the grape halves.

The most fun, though, comes when you have a microwave with no rotating table. In these, though it can be more difficult to get any flame at all, when you do get a flame it'll remain there for longer. If you're lucky, portions of the flame will start disconnecting, causing the two grape halves to shoot little fireballs towards the ceiling of the microwave.

This one is a little more tricky, but fun as well.

you need
1) a gas in a glass envelope, that can be easily ionized ( for example )
2) a microwave

result:
210a1da.jpg

My favourite one for entertaining students is to take a standard household filament bulb and put in into a container of water, such that only the metal cap rests in the water. Put the whole lot in the microwave, switch on and voila! On cometh the bulb...eth...

Generally good physics tomfoolery with microwaves can be found at:

http://apache.airnet.com.au/~fastinfo/microwave/