*Game Tech*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by zaftxx, Apr 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr Deap

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    The framerate is wrong for the comparison & you can't see it due that the actual game run at 60fps on both version.
     
  2. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it's worth pointing out that 99.99% of internet games video is running at 29.97 or 30fps. The encoders basically drop every other frame, or worse yet, blend two frames together. In some cases this is fine. For example, a locked 30fps game like PGR4 or 360 GRID will look absolutely fine. However, for games that aren't v-locked (Uncharted), run at variable frame rates (360 GTAIV) or run at 60fps (SCIV), you aren't getting the whole picture.

    This is one of the reasons why the Eurogamer comparison videos run at half or quarter speed, so we can run every frame in sequence.
     
  3. Jazz9

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. fjuri

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    hard the see any difference imo

    360 version looks slightly softer maybe
     
  5. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    they're pretty much identical. one of the closest MP games i've seen so far.
     
  6. Syvere

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I had to register here after seeing those. Seems like the ONLY difference between xbox and ps3 versions is the antialiasing (or resolution) which is better on XBOX version. PS3 seems to be 0xAA while Xbox looks like it has 2xAA on, whether this is due to higher resolution or actual AA I can't say but the smoother edges are there making Xbox version just slightly more desirable in terms of IQ.
     
  7. obonicus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's quite possible, there's a huge discussion in this thread and others on that. Still, I'm not sure that this difference means that. Maybe once Namco hit their target resolution they saw no need to use more memory (or felt it would be better-used elsewhere) on the PS3, while the 360 would still have space on the EDRAM. The PS3 version does run at 720p.
     
  8. T.B.

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone done framerate comparisons of both versions? The number of pixels per frame is not really a performance metric. (I know -> Framerate Thread)

    W.r.t lead platform, I guess you can't deduct that from their history. Just because you've done a PS3 title doesn't mean you'll lead on it again. (Seriously, if you've done a launch-title, chances are you'll try 360. ;))
    It's also not companies programming games, it's engineers. If you have more/better guys on the 360 team, it will show.

    That said, I can understand why people find it easier to get performance out of 360. I don't think the PS3 is slower, though.
     
  9. liolio

    liolio Aquoiboniste
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Stateless
    Not sure as the 360 version can be percieved as blured.
    And the game doesn't benefit form this higher resolution when upscale to 1080P, it's downscaled then up scaled +> even more blur.

    It's possible that the game could have been better @ native 720p.

    I don't see the point of pushing 33% more pixels just to add some blur.
    If they have been about push the 360 they would have implement tiling and AAx2 (the GPU had legs to deal with it...).

    So I still don't get Namco's choices.
     
  10. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,029
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    33% pixels downsampled does not equal blur. It's supersampling antialiasing!
     
  11. SG79

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's true. Few of the previews going back to late last year noted of some frame rate issues on the PS3 version that's evidently gone, so that tells me that the 360 was the lead platform in this case. I suppose it's a first for a game to turn out so well from 360 to PS3.

    I suppose RR7 was essentially another similar case, so that leaves Tekken 6 which was developed solely on the PS3.
     
  12. chachi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    The 360 performing better isn't a indication of what was the lead platform, that's pretty much par for the course when you're not CPU limited. The question was probably about why Namco would go to the bother of rendering at a higher resolution when the end results, especially at 1080p, don't seem worth it.

    In this case I'd guess the ps3 was the lead platform just because of how sub-optimal 1080p turned out on the 360. Well, that and the ps3 doing much better in Japan.
     
  13. wco81

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,330
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    West Coast
    :huh:Madden 09 demo is out for both systems now. There are also in-game clips posted on easportsworld.com.

    So they finally deliver frame-rate parity (in Madden 08, the difference caused something of an uproar about EA's competence or PS3's inferior tools, etc.).

    The lighting seems improved too.

    But now people are complaining that in the PS3 version, the football doesn't spin, especially in slow-mo replays. Some people say one of the EA producers said it had something to do with compressed replays?
     
  14. SG79

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0

    Just a guess, considering that the only other PS3 lead project I can think of atm was Burnout and prior to release, the 360 version was lagging a bit behind. Unless Criterion was better at adapting to the CPU than Namco's Soul team. that was the basis of my assumption.

    Anyway, for SC, Japan is really a non-factor. The series has never been that popular there, and there are no current plans for an arcade version (Tekken 6 is still on the top performers chart there).
     
  15. Obi-Wan Kenobi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mod Note: You only need to hit the post button once (9 times already!). As a new member your first few posts must be approved.

    Around here, we do not approve of posts that are essentially photo galleries i.e. img tags on everything. It also would not hurt for you to actually discuss what you are posting either. These are discussion forums afterall. -AlS


    360

    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3156/2787856362_2437eb788c_b.jpg

    PS3
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3175/2787001249_84fea6ab41_b.jpg

    360
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3014/2787853168_68a01dce49_b.jpg

    PS3
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3175/2786998551_fc4902b364_b.jpg

    360
    [​IMG]

    PS3
    [​IMG]


    http://www.ibabuzz.com/videogames/2008/08/22/star-wars-force-unleashed-ps3-and-xbox-comparison/
     
  16. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,757
    Likes Received:
    7,441
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Considering that the last two shots show nearly identical results, did you really need to use img tags on everything in your original post? Anyways, I've edited your post and approved it, so quit hitting the post button!
     
  17. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,471
    Likes Received:
    2,780
    Blurrier textures on the PS3 version?
     
  18. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Likes Received:
    2,244
    Looks it , most likely the extra texture ram at work. Also I wonder if the lighting is better on the 360 due to fp10 vs int 8 for hdr lighting ?
     
  19. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,757
    Likes Received:
    7,441
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    What do you mean by INT8 and HDR? INT8 is inherently LDR unless you're thinking of NAO32, which itself would have much higher dynamic range than FP10.
     
  20. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Likes Received:
    2,244
    didn't the old geforce fx cards use int 8 for their hdr. I recall a large discusion on if it was hdr or not back in the day here.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...