Frame "hiccups"

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Quitch, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    I've started to run into an annoying issue, encountered during Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, a sort of "hiccup". Actually, a dropped frame might be more accurate and I used to see it in Half-Life 2 sometimes as well. You'd be running in a straight line but every so often it would seem to skip a frame and ruin the smooth effect.

    I'm running a Core 2 Duo 3.33Ghz process, 8GB RAM and an AMD Radeon HD 5870 on Windows 7 64-bit powered by a Zalman ZM1000-HP. I've had this problem with multiple iterations of the 10.x drivers (I don't recall before then whether I had it or not). It seems to be more common than it was, or perhaps it's because I'm in more 1st and 3rd person games right now, though I don't recall experiencing it at the beginning of the year when I was first playing ME and ME2.

    Is this a software issue? A GPU issue? A PSU issue?
     
  2. IRQ Conflict

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DV,AB,Canada
    PSU? No. I tend to think it's more hard drive access from your post. Possible memory leak and or driver implementation. Very hard to figure out.

    I get great performance in The Witcher. However, if I constantly save/load it will stutter like crazy necessitating a reboot of the game. I have several games that do this.

    I'm a PC fanboy so I tend to blame consoles for my woes.
     
  3. Tamlin

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be many other things also, like harddrive or virus killer (or some other program) kicking in sometimes.

    If you are looking for optimal smoothness, i would recommend you try RadeonPro. It gives you easy options to alter frames to render ahead, vsync and much more:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322031

    edit: I see IRQ Conflict was a bit faster. :p
     
  4. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I assume you are using vsync?

    At least for the Mass Effects you can set an FPS cap in the config file. Set it to be a bit lower than your monitor's refresh rate and this may solve your problem.
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,260
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Have your computer stand on its head and drink from the far side of a glass of water. :yep2:
     
  6. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    since you have 8gb try creating a 1 or 2 gig ram drive and putting your swap file on it

    of course if you had 20gb you could run the whole game from one
     
  7. flynn

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of prehistoric VM subsystem does Windows have that makes that useful/necessary?
     
  8. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I think I know what he's talking about, and it's not caused by HDD accessing. I don't know what it's caused by, but I've experienced it in a few games and the only way to fix it other than disabling vsync is to set a FPS cap below the refresh rate.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    windows will always use the swap file no matter how much ram is available and why not, do many programs use more than 6gb ram
     
  10. Chris123234

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's what I think it is, its a random stutter that occurs when it simply shouldn't be. Even on a game you know should be easy for the system. Used to drive me nuts and distract the hell out of me when I just wanted to be immersed, but luckily hasn't happened in a while. I've also had problems with .mkv files getting super artifact ridden during playback. Pretty sure my hardware is just cursed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...