Five DX10.1 games tested

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by no-X, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    247
    #1 no-X, Apr 27, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 27, 2009
  2. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if I'm not mistaken, Far Cry 2 uses NVAPI. So that would explain that particular result.
    Not sure how many other DX10.1 games use NVAPI.
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,139
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    It would have been more interesting had they been able to include DX10.0 results for ATI cards also. Not only to see how much performance was gained, but also how badly the ATI cards might have been beaten if they didn't use 10.1.

    Although it's interesting to see that in many cases 4890 does 4xAA/16xAF better than GTX 275. Already knew 8xAA is better on 48xx hardware, but didn't expect there to be such a dramatic difference with 4xAA. I wonder if this is DX10.1 helping out the ATI cards a bit more.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Page 9 is for you.
     
  5. itaru

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    15
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,139
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    Thanks. :) Not being able to read German I only looked at the first few pages. Some interesting things...

    DX10.1 seems to have a larger percentage increase with more powerful hardware.

    And in Stalker Clear Sky it's actually generally worse than DX 10.0 Why would that be? I would have expected that at the very worst it would be the same as DX10.1 being just a superset.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  7. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Not sure what they had enabled in that test, but IIRC there are some alpha test AA options available under DX10.1 that I believe aren't under other modes.
     
  8. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    I think you are correct (can't check it right now). And the higher quality alpha test setting is really perfomance intensive. I think there was some more things regarding shaders/settings for DX10.1.
     
  9. StefanS

    StefanS meandering Velosoph
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Vienna
    They had the alpha test AA option enabled according to the article.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...