Finally on Linux

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by silence, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    I finally managed to get great distro to work..... Mandriva 2006.
    It has everything i need. I really love it.
     
  2. StefanS

    StefanS meandering Velosoph
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Vienna
    Welcome to the club! I am a Mandrike user since Mandrake 8.0. It's just a very balanced distro, not too hardcore and not too amateurish like Fedora and the likes. :razz:
     
  3. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    heh... i had latest SuSe and some others before, but i think i'll stick with Mandriva for now.
    i would be using SuSe if it wasnt such a PITA to connect to internet.... that bloody Kinternet simply didnt wanna recognize that i have modem configuered as router and that i AM connected :roll: ..... Mandriva works like charm..... i really like it....
     
  4. MPI

    MPI
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Svea Rike
    Mandrake is pretty sweet, been using it since I dropped Red Hat(6.0 then). The hardcore geek in me says I'm supposed to run Gentoo or Slackware, but I guess I'm just too damn lazy and comfortable. B)

    I started out with Slackware in 1996, and you know what? I'm not longing for those days again. That was a STEEP learning curve. :)


    But I hate the new name, Mandriva. Just doesn't sound right. :-/
     
  5. epicstruggle

    epicstruggle Passenger on Serenity
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Object in Space
    im about a week or so away from building my first linux box. Planning on making a fileserver with a cap of around 3TB of space, depending on price drops for the 500gig drives i might just go for a 3.5TB system.

    epic
     
  6. Moloch

    Moloch God of Wicked Games
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    72
    My ubuntu install disk was no good:(
    Gave some errors trying to install about not finding crap...
     
  7. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    i like Kubuntu better (KDE)..... all i can say is that i really pleased with what i have seen so far....
    if there was only more software support from major software companies i would dump win forever (i still need some stuff in win :???:).

    oh well.... i am glad i finally got really good Linux i like and that doesnt give me any trouble....
     
  8. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,864
    Likes Received:
    7,143
    So far my favourite is Ubuntu. I briefly got to play around with SUSE and it seemed very nice. I really do not like Fedora. I haven't tried Mandriva/Mandrake for a few versions now. Last I tried was 9, maybe and the partition program wrecked my hard drive, somehow. I told it to reformat the ext3 partition I had on my drive from using Fedora/Redhat, and all my partitions were destroyed. I haven't tried Mandriva/Mandrake since.
     
  9. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    GRMBL!!!!!...... any advice on good firewall that i could use with my Linux?
    by default in Mandriva 2006 firewall is down and even though i am behind router and it is Linux i still dont like idea of being without firewall....

    i tried to install some firewalls, but i didnt manage to do it (YES, I AM BIIIG NOOB).....
    well, i managed to install some other software (Firefox 1.0.7 and Open Office 2.0), so i am not that dumb, its just that i cant find firewall that will work....

    YES, there is firewall on my Mandriva DVD, but stupid ass instalation wont recognize DVD and it wants to install from one of 6 CDs :evil::evil::evil::evil:

    i guess i am safer with Linux running behind router, but being connected to net without firewall running is simply giving me the creeps.... (legacy of our wonderfull windows (i cant place more devils, but i would)).



    please help.
     
  10. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Most linux distributions have a firewall installed by default. The only trick is configuring it. Look up the iptables software package.
     
  11. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    heh.... thats the one that it wont install.... i found both RPMs for firewall, but one with iptables wont install....:twisted:

    there is firewall installed, but bloody thing is turned off by default and whats worse when you try to install it, it asks you to put one of 6 CDs instead of bloody DVD... now i been trying to do whatever i could.... i even found RPMs on DVD and copied them to HDD and managed to create instalation folder that will work from HDD (wow..... not bad for n00b:wink:), but bloody things wont install, they give me error with iptables (since i googled i bit i know what they are), so i am pretty much frustrated right now.....

    dunno... maybe i'll reinstall it tomorrow with ALL firewall options checked.... :evil:
    maybe that will do the trick....


    but in case that doesnt do the trick..... anyone knows installable firewall for Linux?
     
  12. Jimmers

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ~/
    The iptables commands are only like 3-4 lines, if you're sitting behind another box. Look up the man page, or here (see code listing 5.2).

    EDIT: Nevermid. Just saw you couldn't install iptables. Disregard :oops:
     
    #12 Jimmers, Oct 25, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2005
  13. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well, what error messages does it give when you try to install it?
     
  14. StefanS

    StefanS meandering Velosoph
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Vienna
    I am still on Mandrake 10.1, since I am always slow to adopt. Anyway, your Mandrake (now Mandriva) should come bundled with shorewall http://www.shorewall.net. RPMs for Mandrake http://www.monkeynoodle.org/comp/net/shorewall/. So basically you got two choices: Try the new rpms or try compiling the source files(./configure, make, make install), which usually works better.
    As for the CD/DVD problem: In the Mandrake Control center, there's the software field, where you can name the sources of your packages: I guess, it is set to 6CDs instead of 1 DVD. Just change the entries and it should work just fine.
     
  15. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    argh.... i know there is shorewall.... stupid ass installs shorewall RPM, but wont install RPM with iptables for shorewall....

    i'll try one more thing and then come back.... maybe this time it will work....

    after all, you are talking too complete n00b :wink:


    EDIT :: looks like i am going for complete reinstall.... i managed to get it to recognize DVD media for RPMs ( /me proud), but yesterday i screwed something else.... since install is like 30 mins tops, i think i can spare some time to do it.... :oops:
     
    #15 silence, Oct 25, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2005
  16. Saem

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    6
    I know this exists in SUSE and it might even exist in mandrake, but perhaps there are setting somewhere that can allow you to stipulate an install source location?
     
  17. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    it does, but being a noob it took me some time to figuere it out ;)
     
  18. Saem

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    6
    NUB!
     
  19. Nite_Hawk

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Debian: The Guinness of linux distros. ;)

    Nite_Hawk
     
  20. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    990
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    On a side note I installed PC-BSD as my secondary OS just two days ago...
    KDE is still far from being good, that thing is rather heavy and preferences are spread all around it (making it difficult for a first time user like me to find the right place to set stuff).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...