F-7 CBE SDK 3.0 released (early release version)

Discussion in 'CellPerformance@B3D' started by Panajev2001a, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. Panajev2001a

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/power/cell/
     
  2. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    Panajev2001a, does this replace Cell SDK 2.1 or is it a layer above ?
     
  3. Panajev2001a

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    It replaces it, you must uninstall SDK 2.1 before installing this version of the SDK.
     
  4. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Wow, things are moving fast. I think I'll try to plan a first attempt at installing this around the 19th of October then.
     
  5. OzzyBC42

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    If anyone is using an old Athlon Processor for his Linux Machine, like I do(Athlon XP 3200+). Don't bother. It's not supported anymore.
     
  6. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    I just upgraded to a 60Gb PS3 and will be redoing my PS3 partition. Thanks for all the installation/configuration guides, Panajev2001a. They are very helpful.
     
  7. Panajev2001a

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    8

    No problem, I am glad I could help :).
     
  8. bsquared

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    athlon & cellsdk3.0 -- works!!

    After upgrading to fedora 7, I found that the cell sdk 3.0 installation failed.

    In one of the ./doc files, there is a modification to the cellsdk script ( near line
    126) allowing athlon as a x86 type, but the installation still failed for me.

    # are we running on a known architecture?
    platform=`uname -p` # i686, x86_64, ppc64
    case $platform in
    i386 | i586 | i686 |athlon )
    platform='x86'
    echo "platform is x86"
    ;;
    x86_64)
    ;;

    However, I was able to get the installation to work, but I had to modify
    the following file:

    /etc/yum.repos.d/cellsdk-fedora.repo

    There are 4 'enabled=0' I changed to 'enabled=1', all having x86 or x86_64
    in the name field.

    After rerunning the 'cellsdk --iso /blah install', I was able to proceed
    with the installation.

    Brett Bolen (aka b²)



    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/forums/dw_thread.jsp?nav=false&forum=739&thread=177503&cat=46
     
  9. Sebrategy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wanted: n x m matrix multiplication

    Hello
    I'm working on a little project where I'm supposed to do measure the GFLOPs for n x m matrix mult. of the Cell on a PS3.
    I've been playing around quite a lot with Fedora 6 and SDK 2.1 (on PS3 and on PC with simulator) but the only matrix mult. that I could find was a n x n (square matrices) - one by IBM and a even faster one by "Daniel Hackenberg", I really need the n x m one though... I don't think that I could program this one myself - or if so it would be reeeeaaaally slow... :roll:

    So my question:
    Is there a new n x m matmul in SDK 3.0 (I've been told that there should be one)?
    I've tried to install the new SDK and Fedora 7 on my old laptop to take a look myself, but I couldn't get it up and running yet...

    After reading this thread I've got a second question:
    Do I have a CPU support problem? - I've got a:
    Pentium M 1.4 GHz, 512 MB Ram laptop
    and a
    AMD Sempron 3400+ (@ 2.0 GHz), 1 GB Ram desktop
    to mess around with.

    Cheers
    Seb
     
  10. OzzyBC42

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    10/19/07: SDK 3.0 is here! The SDK is now generally available for Red Hat Enterprise Linux® (RHEL) Version 5.1. Developer versions can be downloaded for both RHEL5.1 and Fedora 7. The current Version 2.1 of the Cell/B.E. Software Development Toolkit on alphaWorks will be removed on 11/19/07.

    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/power/cell/index.html
     
  11. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    Thanks much OzzyBC42, I can't overstress how much I appreciate your posts in this forum (and Deepak's and Mike Acton's too !).
     
  12. oramay

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to Linux and Cell but want to try learning some Cell programming on PS3 anyway. Is installing Fedora 7 and then SDK 3.0 the way to go? Other distros won't work with Cell SDK 3.0 easily? I suppose there is nothing to be gained from using older SDK versions like 2.0 or 2.1, right?

    Thanks. :)
     
  13. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    The answer to your question seems to be yes (I've asked some other people over at ps2dev).

    I've just started installing Fedora 7 now, and will install the Cell SDK 3.0 after. So far it's a relatively smooth ride. It's not so easy that any n00b could do it, but if you follow the instructions here:

    http://www.gnuradio.org/trac/wiki/PS3FC7Install

    ... it seems to be pretty easy. Takes a while though! :D
     
  14. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Ok, so I installed and had a properly working Fedora 7, but then I went on and updated the kernel, and part of the instructions above said I had to change my yaboot.conf to boot a specific kernel. So I copied everything from mount downwards to my yaboot.conf and rebooted. Unfortunately, now it cannot find the new kernel. I must have made a mistake somewhere unfortunately, and now it's stuck at the kboot prompt.

    I did rename the old yaboot.conf to yaboot.conf.backup but I cannot find it right now. I'll try again tomorrow (maybe that config is in /usr/root/yaboot or something?), but does anyone have any tips on how to remedy this issue?
     
  15. Panajev2001a

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    8

    /etc/yaboot.conf

    Also, the newest kernel from Geoff's tree does not boot on old versions of kboot/otheros and you needed to upgrade that too (you do not need to re-install the OS to upgrade kboot.bld/otheros.bld).

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1065942&postcount=1

    Also, custom kernel wise, rather than using the kernel as is from the ADD ON disc... it is much better to compile your own using Geoff's tree and modifying yaboot.conf in a way that follows F7 style closely:

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=43859

    (I have posted what was my yaboot.conf file at that time: the only difference now is that I am running a newer kernel, but the format of the file is the same).

    As you can see in the renderstate.de's guide after the modules_install phase the system gives you the correct kernel string you need to use for mkinitrd and using that string I have made some very simple scripts (sh) to help automate some parts of the process:

    Code:
    echo "rm -i /usr/src/linux/initrd.img"
    rm -i /usr/src/linux/initrd.img
    echo "mkinitrd /usr/src/linux/initrd.img $1"
    mkinitrd /usr/src/linux/initrd.img $1
    cp -v /usr/src/linux/initrd.img /boot/initrd-$1.img
    cp -v /usr/src/linux/vmlinux /boot/vmlinuz-$1
    cp -v /usr/src/linux/.config /boot/config-$1
    cp -v /usr/src/linux/System.map /boot/System.map-$1
    I execute this one (located as executable script inside /usr/sbin) inside /usr/src/linux where I have compiled the custom kernel and giving it as argument that string I was mentioning before.

    If you do a ls /boot you might see something like this:

    Code:
    [Panajev@IGGS-PS3 ~]$ ls /boot/
    config-2.6.22.7-85.fc7                 lost+found
    config-2.6.22.9-91.fc7                 System.map-2.6.22.7-85.fc7
    config-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty      System.map-2.6.22.9-91.fc7
    etc                                    System.map-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty
    grub                                   vmlinuz-2.6.22.7-85.fc7
    initrd-2.6.22.7-85.fc7.img             vmlinuz-2.6.22.9-91.fc7
    initrd-2.6.22.9-91.fc7.img             vmlinuz-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty
    initrd-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty.img  yaboot
    

    "2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty" is the string that identifies the custom kernel I compiled from Geoff's tree (I am compiling a newer version as we speak so that is an old kernel hehe) and I could use it as argument of the former script or of this other script (which is used to remove an older unneeded kernel from the /boot directory):

    Code:
    rm -i /boot/initrd-$1.img
    rm -i /boot/vmlinuz-$1
    rm -i /boot/config-$1
    rm -i /boot/System.map-$1
    
    Very trivial scripts, but they save you some seconds of typing :D.

    This is my current /etc/yaboot.conf file:

    Code:
    # yaboot.conf generated by anaconda
    
    boot=/dev/sda
    init-message=Welcome to Fedora!\nHit <TAB> for boot options
    
    partition=1
    timeout=80
    install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
    delay=5
    enablecdboot
    enableofboot
    enablenetboot
    nonvram
    mntpoint=/boot/yaboot
    usemount
    
    image=/vmlinuz-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty
            label=2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty
            read-only
            initrd=/initrd-2.6.24-rc4-gea30b6f5-dirty.img
            append="video=ps3fb:mode:3 rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"
    
    image=/vmlinuz-2.6.22.9-91.fc7
            label=fedora
            read-only
            initrd=/initrd-2.6.22.9-91.fc7.img
            append="video=ps3fb:mode:3 rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"
    
    image=/vmlinuz-2.6.22.7-85.fc7
            label=2.6.22.7-85.fc7
            read-only
            initrd=/initrd-2.6.22.7-85.fc7.img
            append="video=ps3fb:mode:3 rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"
    
     
  16. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    But this was my first install, and the kboot.bld / otheros.bld came from the same disc (1023) as which holds the kernel upgrade?

    I'll try to wrap my head around this ... :D (and the rest of the stuff you posted)

    The big question right now is will I be able to boot back into Fedora somehow. If not, I suppose I should be able to plug in a USB drive and copy some yaboot.conf files from there to see if I can fix this up?
     
  17. Panajev2001a

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    If you copied that yaboot.conf file as that guide specified... well, cannot you just type linux-21 at the kboot prompt (type it or press TAB to have it show up :))?

    That should boot Fedora's official PPC kernel: it should work because if you followed that guide you should have the same fc7 official PPC kernel as in that person's guide and you should be able to boot that.

    Ok, so you should have the latest kboot.bld/otheros.bld installed... once you can make the system boot again make sure though that you have the latest utils installed:

    http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/ker...071023-ADDON/target/ps3pf_utils-2.1-1.ppc.rpm

    http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/ker...ADDON/target/kexec-tools-20070810-1.ppc64.rpm

    Those two or the equivalent from the latest ADD-ON disc or use these two repos:

    git clone git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/geoff/ps3-kexec-tools.git ps3-kexec

    git clone git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/geoff/ps3-utils.git ps3-utils

    so you can always be up-to-date :).
     
    #17 Panajev2001a, Dec 8, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 8, 2007
  18. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
  19. Enzyme

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    If you still have both boot-configurations in yaboot.conf, then you can boot the old kernel by typing the following at the kboot prompt:
    kexec -f --initrd=initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img --command-line="video=720p" vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7

    This should work if you followed the exact tutorial as on the site you gave. :)
    (the /boot/ in front of the image and initrd does not seem to work, at least not for me)
     
  20. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,678
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Thanks. Too late, but I wouldn't be surprised if I end up in the exact same position after I try another Kernel upgrade :p

    Yes, the boot part seems to be the problem ...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...