Enemy Territory: Quake Wars demo is out

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by sonix666, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
  2. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Btw, if you have an ATI card you will need Catalyst 7.9 as the demo will not run otherwise.
     
  3. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,475
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Treading Water
    Runs on my x700 without.
     
  4. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Are you sure it wasn't just the 7.9Hotfix? Specifically, have you been able to run either 7.7 or 7.8? Because the devs have told me the demo requires 7.9 and on my system anything except 7.9 crashes the demo.
     
  5. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,475
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Treading Water
    I'm running like 5.8 or something, I've not updated the drivers on this system in a long time. I only played a 5 or 10 minutes but I never noticed any issues.

    <edit> perhaps its just newer hardware that requires 7.9.
     
  6. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Well, I just tried it again with the 7.7 and now they worked without problems. I haven't even rebooted or anything special since when I last tried them!
     
  7. xatnys

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Exactly why I listed that link only. I would've edited my thread for more links (*cough*) but their server(s) are more than capable. ;)
     
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Well I for one am not impressed with this U3 engine, lack of AA is sucky.
     
  9. Sobek

    Sobek Locally Operating
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Tell me about it...

    I remember when I used to play games without AA, thinking nothing of it. I'd see people online complaining about not being able to use AA, and at the time I'd just go "Why? It makes the game run like crap and really doesn't look that good anyway" (at that time I didn't have the best of PC's and games were fairly average looking as it was). But now, everything's changed, and a game merely having no AA support can be enough to make me not purchase it... It really is that integral to image quality.
     
  10. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    I can enable AA in the demo...
     
  11. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    this isnt the Unreal engine, its Doom3 engine with a side of MT
     
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    DOH! :oops:

    Sorry, my bad entirely. Looked around and found the "advanced" tab to the options and I can enable it just spiffy too. (And I like all the settings controls I found there too, more games need more of 'em!)

    I can't believe I confused the two, thanks SC. :oops:
     
  13. bdotobdot2

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tonawanda, NY
    Ditto, 4x AA no problem.
     
  14. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,724
    The game crashed on me twice while trying to apply filters to the server list. Kind of annoying when you can't filter out all the empty and full servers.
     
  15. NRP

    NRP
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    289
    Widescreen support too! (Well, 1440x900 anyway).

    Pretty fun demo. I can see it being even more fun if I figure out what the hell I'm supposed to do. Looks kinda cartoony though. BF2/BF2142 look better imo. Not bad though. I can deal with it. Runs great on my FX-53/7900GT on agp :)
     
  16. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,724
    My computer sucks. Probably won't buy this one. Experience is maybe limited by running it with real low graphics.
     
  17. Skrying

    Skrying S K R Y I N G
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    61
    Eh, didn't care at all for the beta don't really care for the demo either.
     
  18. MJP

    MJP
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I'm not particularly a fan of the demo. I'm a big fan of the Battlefield series, and I find that most games in this genre don't survive a comparison. The objectives are neat, but without an organizational structure its hard to coordinate teamwork.
     
  19. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    So what's it like? Gameplay? Screenshots? I haven't dl'd it yet, should I bother?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...