DX10 error.

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by BoardBonobo, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    I've got a Vista box and just recently when I have tried to run anything that needs DX10 to work I've been getting an Error message.

    C:\Windows\system32\d3d10.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,056
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  3. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Tried all that. Still the same error. DX9 is fine but anything that tries to use the DX10 path brings up that error. It's very perplexing.

    edit

    Just checked the SDK, all the DX9 samples run fine, DX10 DX11 all fail. DxDiag reports no errors.

    edit 2

    Thinking it might actually be an error in the GeForce drivers. Installing a fresh set now.

    edit 3

    No difference. Bugger.
     
    #3 BoardBonobo, Feb 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2009
  4. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Sounds like your d3d10.dll file got corrupted. My file is 1,268,224 bytes large, see if your file matches that.
     
  5. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    I've got three d3d10.dll files: system32, winsxs. They are all 1,029,120 bytes large.Hmm.
     
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    Sounds like a possible virus... Or just corruption on an epic scale since Windows by default backs that up and replaces it if it is corrupted.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  7. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Well I had a look with Safer Networkings File Analyser and everything seems to check out. No virus or anything like that. Just a knackered file, maybe it's time for a chkdsk...
     
  8. aaaaa00

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    23
    Open an adminstrator cmd.exe and run this:

    sfc /verifyfile=C:\windows\system32\d3d10.dll

    And see if it detects any corruption.

    Also is this 32-bit or 64-bit?
     
  9. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    32bit.

    I get hash errors and it is unable to repair the file... Anybody got a spare copy?
     
  10. Sc4freak

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I think it's against the EULA to distribute the DLLs by themselves. You should download and install the latest redistributable package to see if it fixes the problem.
     
  11. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Tried that three or four times to no avail. I also tried the redist in the sdk but that seems to have no effect. Maybe if I delete d3d10.dll and try a re-install?
     
  12. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936710

    OK according to that you have the correct sized d3d10.dll for 32 bit Vista.

    Have you already tried completely uninstalling and re-installing your Video Card drivers? I know you mentioned installing new drivers, but not sure if you completely uninstalled the old ones.

    Although I'm not sure this would explain the hash errors when trying to verify the file. When you ran the command that aaaaa00 gave you, did you make sure you did it in a cmd prompt with admin access? IE - right click on cmd.exe and run as admin? Otherwise the cmd prompt will only have limited user access.

    There's also a possibility that the file being used is sitting on a bad block on the HD, and thus while appearing to be the correct size, Windows cannot fully read it when it goes to load the file since it can't access the data in the bad block.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  13. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    I've pruned drivers, re-installed drivers, re-installed DX. Short of casting bones and reading tea leaves I've done just about everything and still no joy.

    I am beginning to think it could be a bad sector on the HD but chkdsk came up with nothing.

    I'm going to restart in safe mode and run defraggler and see if that manages a complete defrag.
     
  14. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    Have you made sure you were running cmd.exe as an admin and not the default user level? And then trying the sfc command again?

    Regards,
    SB
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,566
    Likes Received:
    3,881
    Bonobo I can send you d3d10.dll I have have a friends vista laptop here and since I havnt installed anything on it im not bound by any eula
    pm me you email addy
     
  16. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Fixed. Cheers Davros.
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,566
    Likes Received:
    3,881
    Glad I could help
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...