DSR is the best new tech I can recall

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by RobertR1, Jul 20, 2015.

  1. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    926
    With my 980TI, I started using DSR. Turned the smoothness down to 10% and made sure AA is off where framerate was starting to dip below 60. Monitor is a dell 3008wfp which is still going strong!

    In games like BF4 and Skyrim the difference is huge. By far the best graphical upgrade I've done. However, in Dota2 and Heroes of the Storm, the DSR output isn't all that different than native 2560x1600. Anyone want to guess why? I'm curious.

    Being able to play BF4 at 60fps with DSR at 2x with everything on Ultra (no AA) is absolutly beautiful. It seem to really bring out the lighting, textures and effects. Same with Skyrim. Skyrim really just feels like a new game all of a sudden especially coupled with 4k texture mods, lighting & weather overhaul and a few other top rated mods on nexus.

    Normally when new graphical features come out, they're most clearly seen in comparison images such as HBAO, SSAO, different types of AA but DSR benefits really hit you in the face. Since most games are now console ports and if optimized run into the 100+ fps range, being able to use DSR and putting your GPU to work to really enhance the visuals is a welcomed bonus.

    It's not all great though. I just found out that DSR and G-Sync do not work together so my enthusiasm for a new G-Sync monitor is quite deflated. Still major credit to nvidia for bringing this tech out and making it easy to implement. Perhaps the best feature I can recall since HDR.
     
    pharma likes this.
  2. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,027
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    At what resolutions do you play? What does "2x DSR" mean? 3840*2400?
     
  3. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    2,215
    I believe it depends on the native resolution of your monitor. With a Dell U3011 (2560 x 1600) I get the following additional DSR's

    2804 x 1753 (1.20x)
    3135 x 1960 (1.50x)
    3413 x 2133 (1.78x)
    3620 x 2263 (2.00x)
    3840 x 2400 (2.25x)
    4434 x 2271 (3.00x)
    5120 x 3200 (4.00x)


    @RobertR1

    I believe there is a temporary solution for the G-Sync and DSR issue.
    http://steamcommunity.com/app/255710/discussions/0/610574106419380270/#p1
     
    #3 pharma, Jul 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
  4. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    It's a huge boon for VR also, at least until the displays get to a much higher resolution, which is a few years away yet.
     
  5. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Dynamically Scaled Resolution ?

    Please stop with acronyms, I have better things to do than learn what 3 letters might mean :p
     
    #5 Rodéric, Jul 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2015
    BRiT and Grall like this.
  6. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    2,215
    Does that apply to all posts in the forum? DSR is fairly well know ...

    In one one of your post you refer to "XP"? Did you mean to say "Experience Points"?

    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1858116/
     
  7. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Where/how does one activate AMD's equivalent feature? I've looked everywhere it feels like, can't find it.

    Really terrible when checkmark features are hidden away so well they're not even there, for all intents and purposes... :p Running latest Catalyst, by the way.
     
  8. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
  9. dskneo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    35
    Works really well on windows 7.

    BF4 with 4k downscalling to 1080p with 4x MSAA = dear god.

    But on windows 8.1 it falls short, as I found the mouse cursor to be displaced from where the cursor is actually pointing.
     
  10. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,581
    Likes Received:
    622
    Location:
    New York
    Grall likes this.
  11. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    2,215
    Seems Nvidia currently disallows DSR/G-Sync/SLI setups (3 features at once), but do allow any of those features paired off with one other feature. Drivers probably aren't mature enough ...
     
    #11 pharma, Jul 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2015
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,835
    Likes Received:
    3,026
    So how does dsr differ from supersampling
     
  13. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    NY
    It's just grid supersampling. More compatible since it's presented to the application as just another resolution.
     
  14. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    This article explains it pretty well.

    • Isn't restricted to x2 or x4 (with DSR you can have x1.25 for example)
    • Includes a user configurable 13-tap gaussian filter
     
    BRiT, pharma and Grall like this.
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,835
    Likes Received:
    3,026
  16. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    2,215
    Great link Tabs! Bookmarked for when I want to play more with DSR. Wonder if having "presets" to apply various AA techniques in conjunction with DSR is on the drawing board. Seems it would be a nice feature to quickly select/save different quality gradients.
     
  17. Unknown Soldier

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    174
    Now that I have a 980 Ti I should give this a go.
     
    pharma likes this.
  18. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    926
    If you're on windows 10, make sure you don't have precsion x installed. It'll create crashes.
     
  19. Unknown Soldier

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    174
    Haven't got Windows 10 yet. Once I move to the 4970K.
     
  20. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I'm here to "upvote" this thread -- DSR is simply badass. Been loving it on things like Skyrim, the Fallout series, even Crysis 1 and 2 work really well with DSR for me. Humorously, I noticed that AMD recanted and now allow their VSR alternative for the 7900-series right when I convert to the 980Ti series. Bleh.What happened there AMD, you were telling us all that my 7900 "didn't have the necessary hardware", and now suddenly it's available?

    Anyway, yeah, DSR is badass. Needed to mention that again.
     
    pharma likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...