Dolby Digital : Why Nvidia is laggier than AMD and default Microsoft driver?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by orangpelupa, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    So I published tutorials on my YouTube for making all pc games able to output surround sound thru Dolby digital.

    Interesting result

    • People with Nvidia cards complains its laggy
    • People with amd cards says it have no lag or only very little lag

    Then I found out that the lag on Nvidia cards can be eliminated by using default Microsoft hdmi HD audio driver instead. Confirmed to work for other people thru my YouTube viewer's comments.

    Any idea why Nvidia is laggier than AMD and default Microsoft driver?
     
  2. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,730
    Likes Received:
    920
    Location:
    Japan
    I don't know why but is there a particular reason why you'd want to output everything in Dolby digital even if the game doesn't support it?
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,809
    Likes Received:
    4,105
  4. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    People without hdmi eARC devices (avr/TV + sound system) needs it for all games to be able to deliver surround sound.
     
  5. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8,577
    Likes Received:
    2,941
    Location:
    Guess...
    I didn't realise that was possible. I'd be interested in giving it a try if you can post a link to the video. I still connect my PC to an amp directly via spdif.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  6. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575


    Antivirus will automatically remove one of the files and the apo installation will complain of missing file, simply click ignore / skip.

    But as you use spdif port directly from pc to amp, thr step on Fx configuration will be different. Select your active spdif output instead of hdmi.

    Lag fix for Nvidia
     
    digitalwanderer and pjbliverpool like this.
  7. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,730
    Likes Received:
    920
    Location:
    Japan
    But in that case why not plug into your receiver and use LPCM?
     
  8. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Surround LPCM requires eARC.
     
    ToTTenTranz likes this.
  9. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,903
    Likes Received:
    21,321
    I think what TOC is saying ... If you have a receiver you don't need eArc unless it does not handle 4K display modes and that's what your display is.

    PC > AVR > Display
     
  10. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    thank, i understand now. yes that would work.
     
  11. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,730
    Likes Received:
    920
    Location:
    Japan
    So why the hassle? I suppose someone might have a shiny new 4k tv but not a 4k receiver as BRiT mentioned. Though I'm not sure if there are many people with a surround system that can actually make the surround effect work properly that buy a 4k tv and not upgrade their receiver.

    Alternatively, wouldn't it be easier to just use spdif if you have a 4k tv but your receiver doesn't support 4k?

    PS. Don't get me wrong, I always think your projects are always fun and quirky but I cannot help but feel you always try to make things harder than they have to be :p
     
    Kej, digitalwanderer and orangpelupa like this.
  12. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8,577
    Likes Received:
    2,941
    Location:
    Guess...
    Thanks! I'll give this a try at the weekend. One of my bug bears since literally the days of the original Xbox has been the lack of ability to use Dolby Digital on my amp from my PC. I never did get an nforce capable chipset.
     
    BRiT and orangpelupa like this.
  13. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    SPDIF doesn't do LPCM surround. But with my tutorial it can do Dolby surround.


    Anyway

    I'm just glad lots of people got helped by my tutorials. Their replies were a delight to read.

    And, the most important thing : These tutorial videos nets me a nice adsense money and donations :D
     
    Kej, tuna, ToTTenTranz and 2 others like this.
  14. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    thank, i understand now. yes that would work.
     
  15. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,806
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    Hey orangpelupa, will this work using the HDMI out from an Intel integrated GPU? Like on the i5-2500k?

    Regards,
    SB
     
  16. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    some people commented it does work. but when i tried myself it doesn't work.

    hmm, maybe try with using default windows HD audio hdmi driver? It should have zero effect compared to intel hd audio hdmi driver for most setup.
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  17. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,806
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    OK, so I finally got it working, but now a problem.

    Everything works fine in 5.1 except for Amazon Prime Video ... aaaaauuuuugggggghhhhhhh.

    Apparently when Amazon detects that you're on PC it sends a 2 speaker stream rather than a 5.1 speaker stream. Fair enough, thought annoying. But when it does that then the Dolby Spatializer thing which spread 2.0 channel audio across 5.1 channels doesn't do anything. It's still just 2 speakers.

    So, this is a problem because Amazon is sending the DD 5.1 channel audio stream with the video, it's just that it only contains 2 channels of audio. @orangpelupa's fix see's that it's DD 5.1 and so it doesn't spread the audio across multiple channels.

    Grrrrrr, don't suppose you know a way to fix that @orangpelupa ? :D

    Regards,
    SB
     
    #17 Silent_Buddha, Dec 15, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2020
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  18. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    uh... the fix is called "the high seas" where you can *ahem* uh .... "grab"... pristine video file of "AMZN". *cough*.

    then you can play it with Splash video player or MPV or MPC+MadVR and enjoy awesome quality, much better than stock player from any streaming company :p

    Unfortunately I only have Netflix subscription (oh and D, so i cant fiddle with amazon and try to find a fix or workaround :( :( :(

    EDIT:


    since 2018 !!!!
     
    pjbliverpool likes this.
  19. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,806
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    You can find complaints from 2016 as well. Maybe even further back then that. :p /sigh

    Even their Prime Video Windows 10 app that they released this year doesn't have 5.1. Bleh.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  20. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11,213
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Location:
    New York
    You lose VRR if you do that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...