Does Ryzen 7 need faster ram for graphics related work?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Nesh, Jul 24, 2018.

  1. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    I have built a PC with a Ryzen 7 1700 CPU and 16GB of DDR4 Ram clocked at 3200Mhz some months ago for work related stuff.

    Recently I have concluded that I may require more RAM for my work which is graphics related.
    Programs I use mainly include Substance Painter, Zbrush, Maya and Unreal Engine 4.

    I went for the 3200Mhz Ram initially because it is known that Ryzen performance is affected significantly by speed of Ram. I have never seen any benchmarks regarding the programs I am using. The clear benefit is mostly talked for gaming in videos and articles which is not my priority. So I paid extra for faster Ram hoping that it will matter also for my work but I am still unsure.

    Now of course I am considering doubling or quadrapling. Going for 3200Mhz Ram will be significantly more expensive than going for something slower. I am wondering if the ram speed for my work does provide clear benefits. Otherwise I ll go large with the memory size for cheaper options.

    Does any of you know if a Ryzen 7 1700 benefits significantly with faster Ram for the type of work I am doing?
     
  2. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  3. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Hmmm can't say the link is very helpful.

    There is no extensive benchmarking on workflows and programs used for 3D graphics specifically.
    I ve searched a lot and I can't find much. Especially for Zbrush.
    That suposedly uses a lot of CPU processing especially when modeling meshes with very dense polycounts. Things like Zremesher, projecting details and Dynamesh are also very important in Zbrush. But I can;t find anything about it
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    are any of the programs you use accelerated?
    cuda/opencl ect
    if so you may be better spending the extra money on a gfx card

    here's a test, downclock your ram see if you notice a difference
     
  5. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Yes some do.

    Zbrush though uses solely the CPU and system ram is super crucial. It is difficult to test it with Zbrush because of the nature of the work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...