Digital Foundry Retro Discussion [2018 - 2020]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Cyan, Jan 19, 2018.

  1. tuna

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    424
    The FMV bits are from this movie: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firefox_(film)
     
    Nesh likes this.
  2. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    6,322
    Yup saw it in the theaters and played the game in the arcades. It was a gloriously bad movie. :) I'm still wondering how they got Clint Eastwood to act in it. He was still a popular and sought after actor during that time period.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    6,322
    Hahaha, amazing. A distribution method that I had been speculating about in the alternative distribution methods thread...and here it is from 1984. :D I imagine a rewritable cartridge of the time was probably a lot more expensive (adjusting for inflation) than today's SD or MicroSD cards. Although it does get relatively expensive when going above 100 GB.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Nesh likes this.
  4. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    had I played this back in the day I'd be hallucinating if I saw that. How did they make that? FMV in the background? I've seen a few games doing something similar on youtube videos from people playing classic arcade games, very boring to watch and play, from animated series where you had to press a key in a given moment and depending on the input, correct or incorrect, the scene would change accordingly
     
  5. cheapchips

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    831
    He directed it, so guess it was easy enough for him to persuade himself to be in it.

    Firefox is responsible for my childhood love of canard foreplanes and low flying jets. I won't hear a bad word said against it!
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    6,322
    Oh, I had completely forgotten that he'd directed it. That would certainly do it. He's certainly directed a lot more good movies than bad. I was going to speculate if maybe a production company had somehow pushed him into it...but...the production company was owned by Clint Eastwood as well. :D

    Absolutely, I loved the movie when I saw it. Hence gloriously bad and not train wreck bad. :D

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Jay and cheapchips like this.
  7. upnorthsox

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    378
    The whole PSTD plot line was a little overwrought (esp. for a pilot) but it did setup the awesomely cool stroll across the hangar.
     
  8. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    [​IMG]

    Let's not forget the home game
     
  9. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,438
    Likes Received:
    7,691
    Location:
    London, UK
    1980s toys were the best. I had something very similar to this but it was a Galaga knock-off and 4 AA batteries would run it for weeks. My parents insta-regretted buying it for my birthday because mine had no mute and it was loud as hell. :lol2:
     
  10. JLinneman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    44
    So, to finally answer this, I try to use original hardware whenever possible (I own roughly 150 or so consoles - though that includes duplicates). I try my best to use emulation only when absolutely necessary.

    In the MK video, I had to rely on Mame for the arcade version as I couldn't get my hands on a board (original MK boards are rather uncommon here in Germany) and the Lynx homebrew port (I own a Lynx but mine doesn't have TV out and I don't have a flash cart for homebrew either). All the other versions are captured or filmed from real hardware (hence why I do those filmed shots). That includes the PC version which was played in real mode DOS on an old 90s PC - that was me playing it on the CRT monitor with the Gravis pad.

    So, yeah, for most consoles and PC, I use original hardware in videos but for arcade games, I often have to rely on Mame. Not always but usually. Arcade boards are often too expensive to obtain for a video and take up so much space (those PCBs are massive).
     
    milk, Cyan, Nesh and 9 others like this.
  11. Shoujoboy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    44
    I just want to say, I love your DF Retro Content !!! @JLinneman
     
  12. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    wow, 150 different models of consoles is....otherwordly! Wish I had those when I was a kid, I enjoyed reading magazines and imagined having the system to play those beautiful games, yet I didnt have one, just a computer in the late 90s, being Microsoft Golf and the original Need for Speed my first games.

    How many of those 150 consoles -or the base models at least- did you actually have when you were a kid? Did you regret buying any of those? When have you played a game -or several- an extensive amount of time at once?

    Are you afraid of playing some games you loved back in the day because you are thinking "I don't want to erase all the good memories I have about this game"?

    Have you ever played a game you loved and all the good memories disappeared 'cos you didn't expect it would feel or look so bad nowadays? (this actually happened to me with Forza 1, I loved that game, but then..., I played it on a HD screen via X360 emulation and all I could see was a mess of polygons and blurry pixels galore).

    Do you prefer playing games with a friend irl or playing online?

    Thanks for replying all my previous questions. Love your work.
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    new DF Retro video. That MS-DOS prompt terminal at the beginning is quite the teaser for things to come. I've never played that game. The game is played under DosBox, I guess? Watching both friends playing the game reminds of myself playing games with my best friend -and best childhood friend- irl. He was the cool kid who had many consoles back in the day, I was once the one having a PC, the only one.

    Dunno if John plays a lot of games with his friend in the video. Believe it or not, the other day, a couple of weeks ago, we played games on my PC 8 hours straight. :mrgreen: -from 9pm to 5AM- Now we dont have time, maybe til summer so..., perhaps the odd game here and there but it was fun.

     
  14. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    I purchased Resident Evil 2 Remake a week ago and I broke every single record I have on videogames, since I spent 45 hours playing the game 'cos it became one of my favourite games ever. It got me so hooked for whatever reason that I completed the game 4 times already, Claire part A, Leon part A, Claire part B, Leon part B.

    So I wanted to go further and I remember watching my best friend playing the game on his PS1 -I had (and still have) the original on PC, but didn't have the money to buy RE2-, so I wanted to give the game a retro touch, and I decreased the resolution from 1440p to 640x480, and this is the result (with HDR metadata):

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The 60 at the top right is because I limited the max framerate of ALL my games to 60 fps on nVidia's Control Panel to get re-accustomed to it. Two more reasons:

    - Save energy in this dark times of coronavirus
    - The GPU runs very very silent 'cos it's not working hard, so it's even nicer.

    Look at how flat the pistol's ammunition looks on the couch.
     
    #494 Cyan, Mar 22, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2020
  15. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    Without HDR metadata -game looks a lot darker with SDR-. Btw, at 640x480 the speed of the input's response feels like....so sharp and crisp, so soft, super super super lightning fast. It feels as if internally the GPU was moving the game at 2000fps, so to speak.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #495 Cyan, Mar 22, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2020
  16. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    471
    Should have gone 240p with a 6x integer scale
     
  17. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    how do you do that and why that resolution exactly? (I played the original RE on a Monster 3D at 640x480) The images were taken on 1440p 165Hz monitor and the lower I could go is 640x480.

    New DF Retro video. Darn, I wanted that game back in the day, but I was into Age of Empires 2 and had no money. Nice landscape at the start. Also, I have the same 3DFX graphics card at home as the one shown in the first minute of the video. :mrgreen:

     
    BRiT, Nesh and PSman1700 like this.
  18. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    471
    The PS1 version (and maybe N64) ran at 240p. According to the internet (I don't own RE2 remake) you can set a custom resolution by editing the re2_config.ini in the install directory. You may have to turn on integer scaling and set a custom resolution in your graphics cards control panel. 640*360 would give a perfect 4x scale and 16:9 aspect ratio as well. 720*480 would give you widecreen 480p at a 3x scale
     
    Pete, Cyan and PSman1700 like this.
  19. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,407
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Hours I ve spent trying o download it in pieces on a 56k modem pirated :mrgreen: But maybe I spent as much on the internet trying to download as I would have bought it original.

    I think this game deserved a lot more than what it got. I am sure it got some downgrade in the final release but the tech was pretty awesome. The atmosphere and visuals were very nice.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  20. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    2,619
    hahahah, sounds familiar. That's what I did with Age of Empires 2 The Conquerors. I had the original but not the money to buy the Conquerors expansion, so I downloaded it from a pirate source, with great patience and the software of teh day to download stuff -cant recall the name, it started with g something, and there were others-.

    However, one day, one of the developers of the game, Cptn_Kidd (which I knew 'cos he was active in my favourite forums at the time, Mr. Fixit forums -great interface they had, a gaming site dedicated to AoE that later became F-Zero centered and one day disappeared), mrfixitonline.com) joined our session of Age of Empires 2 in the great MS Zone.

    I felt bad and thought he had caught me in the Southern Seas, I left the session, and a couple weeks later I purchased the full game.
     
    Pete and Nesh like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...