Digital Foundry Article Technical Discussion Archive [2015]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by DSoup, Jan 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    4,178
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    Rallisport Challenge 2 would tear when the frame rate dropped, but there were only two or three points on two of the snow courses where I ever noticed it.

    It was a remarkable game. By far the best looking driving game of the generation. So much better than Forza a or GT.
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    3,347
    Well..., the Halo 1 TMCC version also lets you choose the original visuals of the first Xbox console in real time, so you can compare them to the remastered version.
     
  3. HTupolev

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    564
    Yes, but that probably has very little bearing on the real-time performance. Unless they're using an absolutely nonsensical and bizarre timeslicing approach, it's clear that the two layers aren't rendering simultaneously. There's probably a simultaneous RAM allocation for both, but that shouldn't be an issue considering the size of the RAM pool and the needs of the two graphical layers.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  4. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    3,347
    Well, unlike Halo 2 TMCC version, sometimes there is a delay between versions when you switch from the classic Halo 1 to the remastered version, especially, it never happened to me the other way around, so your theory sounds about right.
     
  5. HTupolev

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    564
    Even if we're talking about Halo 2, I have my doubts as to the "we run both layers at the same time" thing. The explanation never really made any sense to me, and it's easily demonstrable that at least some aspects of H2C's graphics aren't running when you're in Anniversary Mode.
     
  6. turkey

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    883
    Location:
    London
    Why would anniversary not be full 1080p then if they are not doing at least a reasonable chunk of work for the classic mode given halo 3 and 4 are both full HD.

    Would you assume they are calculating meshes and depth duffer but not rendering it out but do keep textures and audio in cache?
     
  7. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,388
    Likes Received:
    3,255
    Location:
    France
    Why is Halo 5 not 1080p?
     
  8. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,599
    Likes Received:
    22,627
    Because it was only in early beta when people could play the multiplayer tests.
     
  9. stranno

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Rallisport also looked great back in the days. But 60FPS were not much stable.

     
  10. turkey

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    883
    Location:
    London
    I believe anniversary engine was based on the halo4 engine which was 1080 in halo 4 single player and 1080 in both anniversary and halo4 multiplayer.

    Which is why to me it's lower resolution seems to indicate that they are indeed doing something for classic all the time.
     
  11. DSoup

    DSoup Series Soup
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,637
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    London, UK
    Anniversary on 360 let you switch between original and updated graphics using the Back button.
     
  12. HTupolev

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    564
    Because it was built for XB1 and in some ways is more graphically intensive than the other games in the collection.

    H2A MP is effectively a Halo 4 mod, but H2A SP is completely different, using completely new assets and Saber's engine.

    All of Halo 2's assets probably have to sit in memory to enable the clean switch, and the audio layer is probably having to keep track of what's playing all the time.

    I'm not sure what you mean by "calculating meshes", and producing a depth buffer likely isn't something they'd have to be constantly doing.
     
    #692 HTupolev, Apr 30, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2015
    Cyan, turkey, Shoujoboy and 2 others like this.
  13. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Heh, wonder what their memory management & streaming is like. Or did they get rid of streaming?
     
  14. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    I don't see how you could prove either way. The switch with halo 2 is less than 1 second. When you switch back and forth there is no texture or geometry pop in whatsoever. I don't see why its so hard to believe they are storing both framebuffers in memory. Halo 2 anniversary has slightly better graphics then Halo 4 in the MCC. H4 runs at 1080p, but it isn't burdened with running an older version of the title in 1080p. What I am curious to know is why with Halo 2 they wouldn't run the original version at 900p and give the anniversary version a boost in pixel count? Og Halo 2 has some of the worst texture mapping in a Xbox game I have seen. Sure they are normal maps, but they shouldn't have borhered. The 1080p res isn't really needed for the original Halo 2 graphics.
     
  15. HTupolev

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    564
    Did you read the post I linked? I can't determine the exact extent to which Classic Mode isn't active during Anniversary Mode, but it's clear that not everything is running. There's also no obvious performance crossover between modes, although as noted I wasn't really able to test H2C load in H2A since H2C is so stable (all other conditions for both oXbox games are testable with negative results, including CE performance not affecting CEA performance).

    (As to why they'd stretch the truth, resolutiongate would be a reason. It seems silly, but this is the same studio behind crap like Fourteen Day Buy and Play.)

    As I noted earlier in the thread, it's probable that both audio layers are running all the time, and Classic Mode will have to have a RAM allocation in addition to any OG memory management (i.e. streaming) requirements. Although the general lack of streaming-related pop-in makes me wonder if that's even an issue (or if they just load in everything at the start).

    In some ways it's doing a lot more than Halo 4 is. Dynamic lights are often much larger, have specularity, and are capable of being spotlights. Some "static" lights are handled as their own precise sources, not just as part of an environmental lightmap. Some materials seem to have more expressive shading than in Halo 4, especially glossy metalish stuff. Screen-space reflections. Much higher-quality reflections for special/transparent surfaces like water (responds to lighting, sometimes reflects level geometry i.e. through what seems like might be box-projected maps, etc). Transparencies don't seem to have ordering issues.

    I'm not very fond of how H2A looks, but regardless of the extent to which H2C is active in the background, it wouldn't shock me if it could merit resolution compromise in circumstances where Halo 4 didn't. Remember that on 360, CEA had lower resolution than Halo 4 (and in that case it definitely wasn't running both layers simultaneously), and in some ways H2A is more intensive than CEA.
     
    #695 HTupolev, May 1, 2015
    Last edited: May 1, 2015
    Cyan and TheAlSpark like this.
  16. Andrew

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Haha. For a second I thought you had selected "newcomer" to be funny, but then I looked at mine and it seems that's not the case considering i've been here since 2002. I bet there's at least one forum member who wasn't even born when I signed up. lol.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  17. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    3,347
    I highly doubt Halo 5 will be 1080p if the framerate is flawless 60 fps. If the graphics are like Halo Reach or Halo 4's -which I'd be okay with with a few tweaks here and there- then maybe...
    The replays run at 30 fps, plus the video's description says the game has a perfect 60 fps framerate.
    Hey... You are a true survivor. Sheer awesomeness!



    LOVE this video.
     
    Rangers, Nesh and TheAlSpark like this.
  18. HTupolev

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    564
    RSC2's replays run at 30fps. RSC1's run at 60fps.

    I might have to go back and take a look. RSC1 always feels very smooth when I've played it.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  19. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,583
    Likes Received:
    5,078
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    haha I didn't know they made another KungFury video.... and with the Hoff! Classic.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  20. DSoup

    DSoup Series Soup
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,637
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    London, UK
    Digital Foundry: The best PC hardware for Grand Theft Auto 5

    Grand Theft Auto 5: we've tested and benchmarked the title on every single-chip enthusiast-level graphics card on the market right now. It's been quite the undertaking, but with the game notching up stratospheric sales in the last couple of weeks, we thought it would be worth it.

    ..
    ..
    ..

    The Titan X is clearly the most capable card, but in a world where most gamers use 1080p or 1440p displays, the GTX 970 is the star of the show in terms of price vs performance. It's faster than both of AMD's cards, and not that much more expensive than the 290X (and at the time of writing, you get The Witcher 3 with it too).

     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...