DEV question: Could the xbox handle MP?

I'm not a developer, but I can't see anything that would be a problem on Xbox.

The game is relatively simple as far as graphics go. No bumpmapping or anything like that, and the poly counts are pretty sedate.

Still looks great at 60 frames per second though.

Ozymandis said:
I'm not a developer, but I can't see anything that would be a problem on Xbox.

The game is relatively simple as far as graphics go. No bumpmapping or anything like that, and the poly counts are pretty sedate.

Still looks great at 60 frames per second though.

MP looks relatively simple as far as geometry is concerned. It has nice lighting though its not anything i would call spectacular. All in all its a nice graphics package but not anything i'd imagine the xbox couldn't do or do better.

The only thing that I would consider a problem would be loading times.. albeit the HDD would help.

Other than that, if coded from the ground up on Xbox, I don't see why MS' console couldn't do MP.

A straight port might struggle, though. 'Course, I'm not a developer so.. :)

i'm not a dev but i know there is some non-technical reason preventing MP to run correctly on the xbox.. see what i mean.

what do you expect starting a thread like that ?

i guess:
maybe some dev will come and tell that the xbox could do that w/o problems.

in this case there will be in any order some pro-xbox who will boast the technical superiority of the xbox, some GC guy who will contest what the dev said and quote factor5 staff, flamewar etc..

i'm afraid this topic is highly redundant :(

it doesn't have to be like that Magnum. There are a few people in these forums that turn such discussions in to flame wars, i think we know who they all are. It is easier to just avoid them.

What i am really asking is to know some of the technical aspects of MP.

IMHO any current console could handle MP..