Dailytech "Sony begins PS3 component testing"

isn't this old news? I read about the same Chinese/Thiland sources a while back. I think they were talking about the same thing. or am I thinking of something else?

Gateway2 said:
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=1910

Hmm, they dont seem very sure it's coming out this year..bunk or legit concern?

Well, they can't seem to make their minds up:

this points to a sign that Sony may meet its intended 2006 holiday season launch.

Some analysts are predicting that while Sony may have begun testing PlayStation 3 components, it may be too late to meet the holiday launch.

:???: :LOL:

Neither of the other articles suggest that, so I'm not sure where they're getting "some analysts" from. I'm not an expert, but it strikes me that if they're testing now, they're doing it in plenty of time for a Nov launch, and late summer/early fall manufacturing.

Unrelated...

The Anand's forums seem to remain true to their reputation.

By the way, these ICs produced by KYEC are used to test the chips on the assembly lines, IIRC.

Gateway2 said:
They also mention the idea that Sony may purposely limit supply to limit early losses..first I'd heard of that.

Actually it always happened. Thats what actually happened in every launch thus the limited supply.
Some translated it as a strategy to create demand but thats simply stupid. Its actually cost minimization.

What economics did you guys study in school? More production equals lower costs.

Initial supply is short due to the ramping up of production, which takes time. Limiting suppy sends a portion of those customers to competing consoles. Companies know this very well, and try very hard to meet demand. Holding supply back is a fantasy created in the minds of those who play too many video games.