D3D9 doesn't recognize a GPU without a monitor

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by eigers, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. eigers

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I have a 2 GPU system running Windows Vista. The second GPU is used for computing (using D3D9) and shouldn't have a monitor plugged. The problem is that as long as there's no monitor, D3D doesn't recognize the GPU (GetAdapterCount() returns 1).
    Why is this and how can the problem be solved?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Slovenia
    That's a D3D9 limitation. I think D3D10 will allow you to create a device without monitor attached.
     
  3. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    at least there's a fairly simple hardware workaround :

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. eigers

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL...
    Is that for real? Can I buy such a thing?
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    16,873
    Likes Received:
    16,729
    It's for real. You can buy the parts to build it: 1 DB15, 3 75 Resistors.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...