Custom built Voodoo 5 6000

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Kaotik, Feb 19, 2021.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    A modder from Mod Labs forums has aquired a 3dfx Voodoo 5 6000, reverse engineered (without hurting the card in process), created modernized PCB for it, ordered VSA-100 chips and other relevant parts online and build himself a brand spanking new Voodoo 5 6000.
    Changes from original design include power via Molex instead of external brick (this has been modded to countless original cards too), use of PCI instead of AGP and capability to pass-through VGA-signal like Voodoo and Voodoo2 did.
    Other than that, it works just like the real deal, bugs included.

    https://www.modlabs.net/forum/topic/60674/
    (via https://hothardware.com/news/3dfx-voodoo-5-6000-recreated-by-enthusiast-vsa-100)

    upload_2021-2-20_1-56-39.png

    upload_2021-2-20_1-56-46.png
     
    Krteq, Alexko, Leovinus and 15 others like this.
  2. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    France
    Incredible work. And it look very nice imo !
     
  3. JoeJ

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,291
    Well, i know everybody loves 3dfx, but... gluing 4 chips on a board just to get AA? :O No wonder they got bought up right after that.
     
  4. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    Huh? You could use AA even with slowest of the bunch, V4 4500, which had one VSA-100.
     
    no-X and BRiT like this.
  5. JoeJ

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,291
    Theoretically. But back then, having lower fps/resolution for AA was not worth it yet, and those monster cards were advertised to address this, IIRC. I would have been more impressed from something like FXAA in hardware.
     
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    They did advertise it as hardware FSAA, hardware being the T-Buffer.
    One VSA-100 was limited to 2xFSAA but it was usable IIRC, same for 4x on V5 5500 with 2 VSA-100s.
    edit:
    Had to go and refresh my memory, so yes, 3dfx's T-Buffer was pretty much like accumulation buffer, they rendered multiple frames at once and blend them, each frame jittered slightly. One VSA-100 was good for 2 frames, two for 4. And 4 for faster 4 apparently.
     
    Lightman, sir doris and BRiT like this.
  7. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,708
    Likes Received:
    7,710
    I stopped using a Geforce 2 after using it for a couple of weeks because the AA was so much crap compared to the V5 5500 that I had. Didn't matter to me if it was faster if it ultimately looked so much worse. And higher resolution didn't help. Games looked much better at lower resolutions with the V5's RGSSAA than it did with the Geforce 2 at higher resolutions and its crappy AA.

    I finally stopped using the V5 5500 when the Radeon 9700 Pro came out. While the AA wasn't quite as good at least it was "good enough."

    Regards,
    SB
     
    #7 Silent_Buddha, Feb 20, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2021
    no-X, Leovinus, sir doris and 2 others like this.
  8. Leovinus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Sweden
    I recall wanting a V5 5500 so badly. I had a Voodoo 2 in SLI at the time which I was incredibly impressed with. Thought the cover art of the V5 was amazing too (I was a kid, of course it mattered). 3dfx was firmly in the underdog camp too, which made me even more eager. I couldn't afford it though. My next upgrade was a Geforce 3 150. Followed by the incredibly dumb purchase of an FX 5800 to play Doom 3. Good as it was, HL2 became the favorite...

    This homespun version also looks amazing. I'd love to have if, if only for my wall!
     
    Silent_Buddha and Lightman like this.
  9. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    Apparently he is planning some sort of production run, PCBs are built by PCBway and he has 220 VSA-100 inventory
     
    Lightman likes this.
  10. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,808
    Likes Received:
    21,130
    So only 55 full blown boards (220 / 4 per = 55).

    Though I am surprised he has that many chips. As always, it would be really nice if there could be more.

    Or even remix 4 chips into 1 single chip but maybe that requires too many driver changes?
     
  11. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Here's an interesting video. It was probably posted on here... I remember Gary Tarolli mentioning even back then that people were contacting him about building new boards.

     
    #11 swaaye, Feb 22, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2021
    del42sa, Lightman and Leovinus like this.
  12. Leovinus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Sweden
    Jesus, I wonder If I'll be able to get one. As @BRiT pointed out it won't make for a ton of boards.

    How wonderful would it be if this was the start of a 3DFX renaissance? A modding community dedicated to modding and creating games to run on an ever spreading platform base on Voodoo 5 6000s. I can see it in front of me. And it is glorious.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    Oh but there is more.
    This seller has 153: https://www.ebay.com/itm/1-PC-355-0...511158?hash=item4b5b8cf336:g:XQoAAOSwlkpcRLEU
    This one has 83 trays of 24 chips so 1992 chips: https://www.ebay.com/itm/TRAY-OF-24...246340?hash=item33ffd16a04:g:XQoAAOSwlkpcRLEU
     
  14. Leovinus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm assuming that Nvidia owns the IP rights since they purchased 3dfx, but, humor me, could more VSA-100 chips be produced? Either as dedicated silicon or FPGAs? If my dream is to come true we need more chips!

    (Well yes, I'm obviously joking. But this was a nostalgia shot I sorely needed right now, and I'm riding it until it peters out)
     
    Lightman likes this.
  15. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,442
    Likes Received:
    3,382
    why stop at 4 ? Lets just go full modern and put like 5000 of them on a single chip and see what happens. Imagine the Image quality
     
    Lightman likes this.
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm not sure 70 billion transistors would be really feasible today, though :D
     
    Lightman and BRiT like this.
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,442
    Likes Received:
    3,382
    Now we can go for authenticity , split it into 4 chips ! :)
     
    Lightman likes this.
  18. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,362
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Germany
    We have 54.2 at 7nm, why not 70 at 5?
     
    Lightman likes this.
  19. Leovinus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Sweden
    If the guy who built this built another two and added the SLI interface... would it run 8 cores? Would it run Crysis? I feel these are important questions that need answering.

    Also I'd be remiss if I didn't post a picture of the kick-ass box art. 3dfx had some of the best in my opinion.
     

    Attached Files:

    • V5.jpg
      V5.jpg
      File size:
      1.4 MB
      Views:
      10
    Dictator and Lightman like this.
  20. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,442
    Likes Received:
    3,382
    I think a larger memory controller and higher amounts of ram would also be important.

    I wonder how high a chip can clock on 12nm or heck even 16nm .. gotta be cheap to use that process now
     
    Leovinus likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...