Current Generation Games Analysis Technical Discussion [2020-2021] [XBSX|S, PS5, PC]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Shortbread, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. DSoup

    DSoup Series Soup
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,803
    Likes Received:
    11,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    So what do you think necessitates a whole second cable? To be clear, the social screen is simply de-stereoscoping PSVR game images for the TV and nothing to do with the data sent from the PSVR breakout box to the PSVR headset. Cinematic mode is simply being able to play any normal PS4 games, DVD or Blu-ray movies on the PSVR headset.

    PSVR is exactly just a head mounted display with speakers. Why do you think it's doing different than a TV? Sure, it's got a basic gyroscope but 3-axis at 120hz is under 2 kilobytes per second.
     
  2. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14,155
    Likes Received:
    17,583
    Location:
    The North
    isn't it just a separation of video and data feeds?
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  3. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5,405
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    [​IMG]

    FYI, the AUX port is used for the Playstation camera.
     
    Globalisateur likes this.
  4. Deto

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14,155
    Likes Received:
    17,583
    Location:
    The North
    not sure if we are seeing the power of the SSD compression here (then again, not sure how to prove it).
    XBO coming in at 45GB. I think from a compression perspective, Zlib and kraken is pretty close, the only major difference is the decompression speed.

    That being said, I think Xbox titles will always be larger because of the container they must ship with, and according to the tweet the stadium creator is added as well. Not really sure how the claims are being made, but it's worthwhile to investigate further.
     
    PSman1700 and BRiT like this.
  6. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,727
    Likes Received:
    22,879
    Proelite and PSman1700 like this.
  7. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,480
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Apparently not, apparently lots of people pay for game pass. Also, not so free when it’s removed and you have to buy it to continue to play.
     
    egoless and Deto like this.
  8. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,428
    Likes Received:
    3,307
    Location:
    France
    With Kraken you compress about 10% more than Zlib (source: Cerny). The container difference should explain the rest.
     
  9. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14,155
    Likes Received:
    17,583
    Location:
    The North
    ah okay. But 10% more shouldn't lead to a 25GB difference right? I don't think the containers are that large.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  10. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,727
    Likes Received:
    22,879
    I wouldnt be surprised if devs did not alter their development pipeline when they could use the same pipeline for Xbox One, One S, One X, Series X|S, xCloud, and PC as opposed to running a different one for just Series X|S.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  11. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,428
    Likes Received:
    3,307
    Location:
    France
    Yes, you are right I forgot about possible deduplication of data.
    I think this is more problematic than this. I think on PS5 devs can deduplicate the data because all PS5 games will use the SDD while they can't do it on Xbox (even Series) and PC versions because those hardware can still use slow HDDs.
     
  12. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14,155
    Likes Received:
    17,583
    Location:
    The North
    possibly yea.
    the differential is much larger than a container, and much larger than the compression difference. There aren't many areas to really look at here, except, one possible theory is that we are seeing asset duplication happening on Xbox platforms, and no asset duplication happening on PS5.

    There's a lot of little things that could affect things here, but I suspect the pipeline for streaming on Series consoles are more nuanced than on PS5 (or possibly less mature, thus have no reason to invest to make the change), and so they went with a tried true method instead.

    Or the GDK does not do a great job of supporting multiple asset streaming methods, and it's too big of PITA to want to expose that functionality while supporting last gen.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  13. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,727
    Likes Received:
    22,879
    Not quite, They can do it for Xbox SeriesX|S pipeline since devs can guarantee it will be run from NVME on that hardware.
     
    PSman1700 and Globalisateur like this.
  14. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,428
    Likes Received:
    3,307
    Location:
    France
    Right, I must have forgot this. It's then like you said. It's much easier to do one version (without deduplication) for all versions (Series, XB1 and PC).
     
    iroboto and BRiT like this.
  15. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    760
    They can, they just have to use the smart delivery feature and give the consoles different packages.
    But I guess, they mostly won't do that. This is just a cost vs time issue. Is it small enough to don't cause more costs than ... release it. Simple as that.
     
    milk, PSman1700 and iroboto like this.
  16. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Different than a TV? I mean, it has a basic 3 axis gyroscope for starters. But it does require power like a TV would. I don't have specs to back this up, but I would assume the gyro, speakers, tracking lights and screen would need more power than HDMI is capable of supplying. So maybe you are right, it is just a HMD with speakers, and it needs to be plugged in for power. And data.
     
  17. DSoup

    DSoup Series Soup
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,803
    Likes Received:
    11,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    FYI the camera doesn't connect to the PSVR box at all, it connects directly to the PS4. The dual-connector cable on the front both connects to the PSVR headset as demonstrated in Sony's own PSVR setup video I posted above.
    [​IMG]


    1 - PS4 to PSVR box HDMI cable.
    2 - PS4 to PSVR box USB cable.
    3 - PSVR box PSU cable.
    4 - PSVR box to PSVR headset dual (HDMI/???) cable
    The unnumbered cable is the HDMI cable from the PSVR box to the TV.

    It would hugely help if people who obviously don't own a PSVR would stop posting about how it is setup. :yep2:
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  18. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,593
    Likes Received:
    9,119
    That picture makes me want to eat spaghetti now. :p

    Regards,
    SB
     
    DSoup and PSman1700 like this.
  19. PSman1700

    Legend Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5,839
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    Maybe the designers ate spaghetti at the time.
     
  20. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,889
    Likes Received:
    7,892
    Kraken compresses about 10% more, but then Oodle Texture RDO compresses another 10% to 50% depending on how lossy the texture can get without perceptible differences.

    I don't know if the Oodle license Sony provides for every PS5 SDK is including Oodle Texture on top of Kraken, but from some examples it looks like it is.
    Or maybe Oodle Texture is being sold as a cheap upgrade to everyone who owns Kraken, leading some devs to just pay for that upgrade.


    Regardless, we should expect most if not all Unreal Engine games in the future to just get these compression techniques, considering Epic recently bought RAD.
     
    iroboto and DSoup like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...