CUDA 2.0 Beta Live, Includes Vista32/64

Discussion in 'GPGPU Technology & Programming' started by peterpanwashere, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. peterpanwashere

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. TimothyFarrar

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Thanks for the post! I'm downloading CUDA 2.0 in Firefox right now, so all is good!
     
  3. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice, Vista support is coming much sooner than I expected!
    On the other hand, it's not too surprising, they want to support PhysX on both Vista and XP ofcourse.
     
  4. TimothyFarrar

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Cannot seem to find the PTX guide in that download.. perhaps they left it out on purpose?

    And looks as if they finally added the support through "streams" to overlap execution of more than one kernel at the same time!
     
  5. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
  6. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, dang, they need their own 177.84 driver again.
    It's rather annoying that they don't make drivers with everything in them.
    There's now drivers with PhysX, drivers with Cuda 2.0, and drivers with OpenGL 3.0, each with their own issues.

    nVidia needs to release proper WHQL drivers with everything onboard, not one or the other.
    It's been really annoying so far that I only had the choice of one or two beta drivers for Cuda. You couldn't use the same driver to play games or use PhysX.
     
  7. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I think NVIDIA will eventually release a "eveything-in-it" driver. Currently those new drivers are all beta drivers and NVIDIA may just want to release them to public as soon as possible.
     
  8. Rootax

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    France
    Hum, all 177.xx drivers support Cuda 2 i believe.

    I say that because you can run folding@home with any 177.xx driver, and i think f@h requires cuda 2, so...


    (sorry for my english)
     
  9. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Correct--so long as you have a 177.xx driver, you support CUDA 2.
     
  10. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I tried with the 177.83 driver (from the PowerPack stuff), and most Cuda 2.0 stuff ran on my 8800GTS320.
    Both D3D and OGL worked one, which is good. There were a handful of examples that didn't work, but I'm not sure if it's a driver problem, or the fact that I have a G80-based card, and it requires a newer architecture.
    One such example reported my card as a Cuda 1.0 device?
     
  11. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Taiwan
    8800GTS 320MB (which is based on G80) is indeed a CUDA 1.0 device.
     
  12. Rootax

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    France
    I'm not sure i understand but, g80 compute capability is 1.0 (1.1 for g8x and g9x, 1.3 for gt200, etc ), ok , but it is not related to cuda version (1.0 or 2.0), right ?
     
  13. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Yeah, it's a bit confusion. Basically a device has "compute capability" from 1.0 to 1.3 right now. G80 is 1.0, G8x/G92 is 1.1, and GT200 is 1.3. 1.2 devices are mysteriously missing right now.

    CUDA version, on the other hand, is about softwares, including driver, toolkits, etc. The latest one is CUDA 2.0.
     
  14. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I can probably assume that the examples that didn't work require a later card.
    I've not really looked into that "compute capability" stuff yet, saw the term mentioned here and there.
    I'll look around to see what those different versions mean when developing software. I hope there's a relatively easy way to make Cuda work on all architectures (without just going lowest common denominator).
     
  15. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,742
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    There isn't. If you want to use > 1.0 compute capabilities (e.g. atomic updates), it's simply going to work on a G80.
     
  16. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Compute 1.0: basic CUDA compatibility.
    Compute 1.1: asynchronous memory copies and atomic global operations
    Compute 1.2: dramatically improved memory coalescing rules, double the register count, intra-warp voting primitives, atomic shared memory operations, probably other stuff I'm forgetting
    Compute 1.3: double precision

    G80 is 1.0, G84, G86, G92, G94, G96, and G98 are 1.1, and GT200 is 1.3.
     
  17. Scali

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume you mean it's NOT going to work.
    Yes I figured that. But I was thinking about setting up multiple code paths. Just like how you'd have an SSE and non-SSE codepath in x86 applications for example.
     
  18. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Taiwan
    It should be possible, as .cubin files are loaded like a dynamic linked library. So a program can detect the computing capability of the device then decide which .cubin file to use.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...