Crysis Warhead

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Gnerma, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. Randell

    Randell Senior Daddy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London
    not happy with gamer/enthusiast performance on my 3870X2. Is that due to a lack of crossfire profile?
     
  2. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I think there's a profile, but Crossfire scaling is generally poor in CryEngine2.
     
  3. Randell

    Randell Senior Daddy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London
    hmm not true for 2 gpu's in Cryis itself and seem some good numbers for SLI from the benchmark tool. Not that I can use it as I have the Steam version.
     
  4. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    #224 homerdog, Sep 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2008
  5. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    I am running a custom config which is set up to be very high in terms of settings. I am playing Crysis @ 1920 x 1200 and get a solid 40 fps. I will post my configs when I get home.
     
  6. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,856
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    While CF scaling isn't awesome, it certainly helps my rig. A single 4850 isn't enough to play at VH settings at 1680x1050, but two of them certainly is. I guess it depends on the scene as to how much the extra card actually helps...
     
  7. eezing

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks exactly like Crysis? What part of "Crysis" in "Crysis Warhead" do you not understand.

    Also, I'm surprised that no one has mentioned the fact this game is only $29.99.

    My suggestion, if you have the power to run it, get it! It will blow your mind; videos don't do justice.
     
  8. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,563
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Maybe I was exaggerating a little, but definitely all independant benchmarks back me up.

    http://www.techspot.com/articles-info/118/bench/Enthusiast_01.png

    They're using a faster CPU than me and a lower res and getting 15 FPS on Enthusiast+9600GT.
     
  9. joker454

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    So. Cal.
  10. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Well DX10 is borked, many reports on that. going to DX9 mode very high can grant you twice the framerate. I also find it suspicious that a GTX280 scores 32fps average and a 9800GTX+ 24fps aswell as HD4870 29fps vs HD4807x2 31fps (especially with 2x1GB VRAM). Seems to be the problem I mentioned about DX10, 2-3x perfomacne but 10-20% pefomance gain.

    Those numbers seem worse than Crysis very high and that is way more demanding.
     
  11. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Dude, 1280*720p and 16xAF my E8400 and HD4870 tears this one into pieces at 40+ fps on enthusiast on average. You got 8800GT or better then your fine to go atthat res and even higher.

    I mean I played Crysis at ultra high (scratch it, extended ultra high settings is more correct) settings at 1280*1024 and put some screenshots on the last and previous page of the screenshot thread with debug info. Kidna says alot and Warhead runs better.

    Enjoy!:grin:
     
  12. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Hehe well he maybe meant realistic, both games present extremly good to realistic graphics and maybe he wanted some cell-shading or vaselinefilter or other onscreen! :lol::wink:
     
  13. Dooby

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3
    How do you change from DX10 to DX9? Im running a mix of Enthusiast and Gamer, and getting about 25fps. Would like "twice the framerate".
     
  14. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Right click on the icon in the "Games" list (found in the Start Menu) and select "PlayDX9". It really does make a large difference.
     
  15. Dooby

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3
    How to do it if you downloaded it via Steam?
     
  16. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,563
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    DX9 showed about a 4 FPS gain for me in my testing with Warhead (I run Vista 64), from about 19 to 23 at all gamer with my 9600GT. Then again that was with me just hopping around the level in fraps, not the most consistent benchmark. 4 FPS is actually a nice 20% gain, but not anything close to double.

    My 9800GTX I just got in (725/1725 clocks) runs all gamer about 29 FPS at 1680 DX9.

    The game definitely runs the same or worse than original Crysis.
     
  17. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,563
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    I have a question about AF in the game..will it make the game look much better? Should I enable 4X, 16X, which setting? And can you only do that through the control panel?
     
  18. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    There should be an advacned settings section for the game in steam, there you can add start parameters. Add -DX9 :grin:
     
  19. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Start on the last page in the screenshot thread adn work your way back some pages. I have 16xAF enabled and it makes huge difference.
     
  20. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Well i play at max 1280*1024 since that the max res of this CRT. Going from 'enthusiast' DX10 to DX9 is 20-25fps -> 30-40fps.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...