Crysis SP demo landing Sept. 25

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Dresden, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. Obakan

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have been playing around with the Sandbox 2 for a while, it´s amazing, and thanks for the guide Nebula!
    Anyone tested the Singularity Tank? :D And did you know that you can add enemy A.I.s and teammates.
    Lightrays are so beautiful, I´m still testing some variables in the CvarGroup, very nice for tweakin ;)!
     
  2. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    2 pages back i posted some screenthots of the Singularity tank weapon effect... jaw-dropping material CG HQ like effect period. :cool2:
     
  3. Crusher

    Crusher Aptitudinal Constituent
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    19
    Played through the demo and everything was great except for a bug dealing with environment shadows.

    During the first part of the demo, it seemed like they did some kind of shadowing to the sides of models that faced away from the moon to make them appear a little darker, but that resulting shadow mask got stuck and would appear on the screen as I moved the camera around, so that I could look down at the sand and see a grayed shadow image matching a skyline I had been looking at before. Kind of like a reverse flash blindness, where the shadows get burned into view instead of the light, and lightly shade anything in the same screen space for a while.

    This is on an 8800 GTS with the latest drivers. *shrug*
     
  4. xatnys

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Woah. Framerate? I have a similar setup and honestly wasn't really expecting to play, but you've sparked my interest.
     
  5. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I'll go home tonight and try it on my Core Duo 1.66ghz, 2Gb ram, 7300Gs 128mb Dell Laptop and report back... I don't expect a lot, but hopefully it'll be playable somehow at the native 1280x800 rez ;)
     
  6. woundingchaney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
  7. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,159
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    There's the odd hiccup. I'll read up on how to watch framerate or benchmark.

    Edit: My impression was that "low" was very smooth, but kind of ugly. So I turned things up to Medium and kept shadows at low. Seemed to be playable. Probably in the 20-30 range with the odd dip.
     
  8. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,793
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Guess...
    I wouldn't touch them, I installed and them and it took away about half my resolution options (in windows and games). As a result (i'm assuming) I couldn't even start several games that I had set to the wrong res.

    I reverted back to the last certified drivers.
     
  9. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    Remember that hat i threw on a bed last night? (earlier post).
    it is STILL there (day later). they've done "stuff where you leave it". THAT is good design. these tractors have evolved again. they RULE! (in my book)...your book sucks.
     
  10. Sobek

    Sobek Locally Operating
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Tried it at home, exact same errors (naturally) but it worked flawlessley. I can only assume it's a driver bug on the other system, or perhaps the editor just hates x800's? Either way, had some fun with it.
     
    #490 Sobek, Oct 31, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 31, 2007
  11. Brent

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    SLI is currently not supported in the demo, the full version game will support it with a patch.
     
  12. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,159
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Ok, I'm definitely more in the 15-25 range, but I can play no problems and it doesn't feel bad. The game is not insanely fast paced and twitch like Quake or something. Later in the game, I'm assuming things will get crazier, and then maybe more settings would have to hit "low".

    No way in hell I could play multiplayer with these settings.
     
  13. mito

    mito beyond noob
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Feindesland
    the final release of a much expected game will not support SLI?

    only with a patch?


    I protest.
     
  14. Brent

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    'tis what i was told, posted here under drivers and sli heading
     
  15. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,573
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I think Crysis is going to be patched up like crazy. It is obvious IMO that they are really scrambling to get it working well enough to get it out for xmas. At least the game does seem to be fairly stable and not horribly bug-ridden.

    SLI must not have been a priority. It's very niche setup, after all. This is why I'm still not willing to believe in SLI/Crossfire (aside from the insanity of having 2x ultra-power-hog super$$$ vid cards heh)
     
  16. dizietsma

    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'd have thought with the [H]ard way it treats [H]ardware and the 5000 hours of nvidia engineers time SLi would have been in the game and not needing a patch. Rather puzzling it is not.
     
  17. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    107
    Sure...but considering that this game has had a fairly draconic release schedule(no delays from initial estimations), and what they're trying to do(cram every possible technical bit into it), they probably relegated it to something that'll eventually be done.

    It's possible that Crytek may have bitten technically more than they can properly digest-sure, having a very very cutting edge engine that'll still be cutting edge a year later is important, but its all over the place performance, unclear binds(is it CPU bound?GPU bound?Which GPU aspect?), and rather dodgy behaviour under scenarios that they touted as being supported and planned for(see the recent 32-bit vs 64-bit comparison, although that may not be hugely conclusive due to a couple of reasons) leads me to believe that they're not as ready for release as it has been thought, and that EA is tightening the screw on em'.

    I may be horribly wrong OTOH.
     
  18. max-pain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    2
  19. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,793
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Guess...
    Nice! If this holds up across other reviews and into the final game, especially if that bug is fixed for retail then it could be a huge boon to x64 uptake. The're some pretty major performance improvements, I kinda wish I had Vista 64 now! I wonder if UT3 will show any benefits?
     
  20. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    You're not alone. Its either a drivers or settings bug, i didnt notice it doing this when everything was set to high for the benchmark run. GTX and latest drivers as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...