Console OS memory footprints *spawn

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by BRiT, Sep 2, 2017.

  1. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,343
    Likes Received:
    17,824
    And then you'd have the likes of Nintendo reserving 12 GB for the OS... :runaway:
     
  2. phoenix_chipset

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    246
    Nintendo's OS are the least bloated.
    Pretty sure the switch only uses 800 MBs. Ps4 is the most bloated at 3.5 GB.
     
  3. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,668
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    Location:
    France
    3 GB for PS4. 3.5 GB for Pro.
     
  4. phoenix_chipset

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    246
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,343
    Likes Received:
    17,824
    I was referring to their history. They used 50% of all memory for the OS on WiiU.
     
  6. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Ps4 had 5GB for games at launch, Pro has 5.5GB.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  7. phoenix_chipset

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    246
    This is from the Infamous second son GDC presentation :

    [​IMG]

    Apparently there's 500 MB's of additional "flexible" memory available, that may or may not be available depending on the situation? Not sure how that works.

    Wii U could be even less bloated than Switch when you consider the latter doesn't have a web browser. For a console comparable in raw flops to an xbox 360 with a weaker cpu, 1GB for games was a surplus.
     
    #7 phoenix_chipset, Sep 2, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  8. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,343
    Likes Received:
    17,824
    IIRC, They have virtual swap memory that gets paged in and out from disk as needed.
     
    phoenix_chipset likes this.
  9. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,668
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    Location:
    France
    Always available to the application from the beginning to the end. It's just that the app doesn't know all the aspects of that memory contrary to the 'direct' memory where the details of allocation is know, like most probably the direct address.

    This is very old info actually (2013), source: Sony.
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-ps3-system-software-memory

     
    BRiT and phoenix_chipset like this.
  10. phoenix_chipset

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    246
    So it's like having 5GB available but 500 of that is just much slower.

    Now that I look at that slide again it looks like they used that flexible memory (misspelled it :p) and had some memory left unused.
     
  11. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    You are mistaken it's going through the OS allocation (like a PC game), it's not slower.

    Just drop it, this is the prediction thread. This question was resolved years ago.
     
    bunge likes this.
  12. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,659
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    I remember back when Neogaf was insistent near/after launch PS4 used only a couple hundred MB for the OS or something :lol:

    http://cdn3-www.playstationlifestyle.net/assets/uploads/2014/04/spslide1.png

    There was at least second source for the 4.5 GB thing back then, KZ SF presentation

    [​IMG]

    May have been more offhand I cant recall.


    Anyways DF spoke on it

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-ps3-system-software-memory

    I cant really imagine Sony allowing a deficit to Xbox One here TBH. And big devs like EA have never mentioned it.

    Seems weird why Guerrilla and Sucker Punch arbitrarily used 4.5GB back then only for no reason though. So it must have been a thing at some point.
     
    #12 Rangers, Sep 5, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  13. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,343
    Likes Received:
    17,824
    The only way 4.5 GB total makes sense to me is if those usage graphs are from early dev-kits that were outfitted with 4GB memory mixed with the 512Meg Paged Memory.
     
  14. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    303
    yes, the main-memory reserve on current consoles is ridicules.
    Last gen, the xbox 360 OS reserved ~15MB (at the end, as far as I remember). Now the OS in xbox one reserves 3GB ... well actuallay something with 2GB because you can run apps simultaneously with a game. But they threw out the "Snap" mode so there is no longer any app visible and at the same time a game. they could now swap out a game from memory (partly) if an app runs and therefore give the game more memory when it runs exclusively.
    Well there is a small catch because of music-apps.
    But what the hell does MS (or Sony) make with at least 2GB of main memory?
    Yes, they need some of it for the real time recording. But .... well last gen it was 15-30mb why this really, really big jump?
     
  15. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,668
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    Location:
    France
    Did they ? Or for a reason they were only talking about direct memory in the infamous 4.5 GB mention in one slide ?

    BECAUSE THEY DID USE MORE THAN 4.5 GB FOR KZSF:

    1536 + 128 + 3072 = 4736 MB

    Which is 4.625 GB
     
  16. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Presentations about memory map would probably be about their own allocator or manual mapping, which is only relevant for the direct 4.5. The 0.5 is going through the BSD allocator so it's not managed or mapped directly.
     
  17. phoenix_chipset

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    246
    He said virtual, when someone says virtual I think "slow". But even if it was slower it's not like every process needs the same speed.

    Anyways yeah I see the PS4 has 5gb for games. Thought it was odd I never heard anything about a disparity from 3rd party devs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...