*Confirmed* Original Crysis Bound for *PS360

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by fellix, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Source

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,033
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Why do you/they only mention XB360 and not PS3, when it's clearly listed in the platforms? If true, it'll be a pretty cut-down version I'm sure. Not sure it'll be worth bothering with developing given competition for shooters on the platforms, unless they're porting the game to the Crysis 2 engine with whatever modifications.
     
  3. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    How bizarre if true. :shock: :???:
     
  4. Ghostz

    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    That game is one heck of a mess. Wouldn't they have to rebuild a lot of the assets to make it work over consoles?
     
  5. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Remember, that the promo videos of CE3 contained some sequences of wide-open maps with lots of vegetation and other assets, similar to original Crysis look. That was some year ago, so the build up and porting of the maps to the new engine is probably well under way.
     
  6. nightshade

    nightshade Wookies love cookies!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Liverpool
    well....remember this?
     
  7. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,686
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Because the original Kotaku rumor was based on the South Korea listing, their equivalent of the ESRB, which was only on 360. Which was definitely new info.

    The ESRB thing was dug up later by forumites. I'm actually not even sure how much it means though, it was said on GAF that new platforms cant be just added to an old listing later, as it would seem to be here. It seems I even vaguely remember that the ESRB Crysis listing always included PS3/360 for some odd reason.

    As a practical matter if this is real, I doubt it would be only on 360.
     
  8. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,686
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    How about simply this video (Far Cry 3) from ~3:40 on? And from about 4:12 for the next few seconds? Sweeping Crysis-like jungle vistas, and they look pretty good.



    Anyways I'm all for this, just for kicks. Would expect a 39.99 price point hopefully. Was thinking it could be XBLA, but there's that 2GB limit. Could be Games on Demand, but you dont see brand new games there. So it probably would be disc.
     
    #8 Rangers, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2011
  9. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Australia
    Crysis game on consoles is such a miss fit now that I've played Crysis 2, too much is been sacrificed in terms of frame rate, image quality and LOD. I'd be much happier if Crytek port the Full HD version to nextgen consoles.
    I do have more faith in Far Cry 3 though supposedly if it's using Dunia engine.
     
  10. SteelOak

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    any chance that this is gameplay from a console version ?
    It looks too good to be true :razz:
     
  11. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Australia
    It's the PC version, they haven't demo any consoles yet although hinted the latter would look awesome too.
     
  12. KKRT

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    They played the demo with sixaxis on stage.
     
  13. dragonelite

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    netherlands
    You can use a controller with pc too.:lol:
     
  14. Ruskie

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was far from miss fit.Sure first couple of chapters dropped frames,but later on it was perfectly fine.Other than some pop in(as with alot of todays games) and slightly reduced resolution game was perfectly playable on consoles.With all the bells and whistles that you can find in todays best looking games.
     
  15. TheD

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tons of problems with that video (like the fact that it would be using PS3 crysis 2's LOD settings and shaders and not Crysis 1's), uploader is clueless.
     
  16. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,837
    Likes Received:
    3,038
    They did demonstrate Cry Engine 3 on the consoles with Crysis 1 environments some time ago. And it looked very good
     
  17. KKRT

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only via cable.
     
  18. dragonelite

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    netherlands
    Havent played Just cause 2 but i heard it has some lush jungle environment on consoles.
     
  19. N_B

    N_B
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand

    Uploader says, if you would look at the comments:

    Any port would be on Cryengine 3, so you should expect Crysis 2's LOD, streaming etc. Plus the already console-optimized godrays, motion blur and other effects.
     
  20. TheD

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said, the uploader is clueless!

    Tons of broken shaders and it is using PS3 crysis2's LOD settings, just take a look at that pop in!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...