CATALYST 3.8 available now

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by CATALYST MAKER, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. crushinator

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    What I miss, is the option to load a profile by using the tray icon. :(
     
  2. Rolf N

    Rolf N Recurring Membmare
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    yes
    Terry,
    I hate to say it, but the notion of "efficiency" that was applied to the new CP design is just bollocks.

    What did you achieve?
    Well, for the "average Joe" type of customer, you now have AA/AF/texture quality combination settings for both APIs in a single slider (significant change wrt previous release in bold). Okay.

    But at the same time you really made it cumbersome to change something directly. I'm counting ten clicks to get in and out of the OpenGL settings panel versus six clicks in the previous release.

    Getting back to Joe, it was previously required to know the game's API to make settings. Otherwise, the method didn't change. The same slider was duplicated in both API tabs, same number of clicks required. Duh.

    Honestly not my style. Sorry.
     
  3. BigBen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ditto!

    I think many people like me already wrote a feature request to ATI many month or years ;) ago and NOTHING happen!
    I can't understand ATi in this case. Game-profiles are a realy important respectively useful driver feature (look at PowerVR's Kyro driver suit!) and it tooks ATi's "hard-working" (?) driver engineers so many time to implement this premature profile-feature? :roll:

    Ok ATi, where is teh problem? [Edit] Just do it the kyro-way ;)

    Regards,
    BigBen
     
  4. gkar1

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    7
    LOL write the drivers yourselves or use a tweaker which has the capability as most already do.
    Beggars cant be choosers.
     
  5. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
  6. fallguy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    11
    Perhaps they have to work up to the .exe specific settings. Some times thigs take small steps.. not one large leap.
     
  7. lwells

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    From reading the AnandTech and B3D reviews, I must say I feel a little disappointed with this release. There was a lot of buzz about 3.8, and the inclusion of Overdrive promised something different. Maybe I am hard to impress, but the small performance gains from Overdrive don't add much to the 9800XT IMHO.

    Still, its not all bad...

    LW.
     
  8. Rolf N

    Rolf N Recurring Membmare
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    yes
    Terry,
    Just tested the Ashli viewer 1.1 in GLSL mode on my trusty 9500Pro (there were some issues with Cat3.7).

    Old issues gone, new ones in:
    The "Batsignal" thing has strong z fighting issues.
    "SpiderWeb" doesn't seem to work at all.

    edit:
    "WindowLight" and "Uber" have z issues, too.
    "Bumpmap" is just a plain white spiked thingy with a chain?
    /edit

    Just so you know.

    It just so happens that Exxtreme is the author of rTool :)
    And I myself have some nice EXE-linked game profile stuff already out there (hunt it down; use my sig as a starting point).

    That doesn't mean that we can make ATI drivers. Err uhm.
     
  9. BigBen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Hehe... nice phrase! In germany it means "in time of need, the devil eats flys" :D

    You're right (!), i should use these litte tools (i'll do it!), but as an Ex-Kyro 2 gamer it's hard to understand why ATi needs so long for their premature Feature while PowerVR has a much advanced profile-panel since 2000 or so.
    Sometimes i think it would be nice/better, if customers can make theirs own driver :wink:

    Regards,
    Ben
     
  10. Reverend

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    24
    Troll...

    :)
     
  11. PaulS

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have to agree with what people have said about the profile feature, since i was under the impression that being able to tie settings to specific .exe files was the whole point of the feature :?

    They missed the boat there, but hopefully it'll turn up in a future release.
     
  12. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Huh?

    Did I say something that disagreed with this?

    I agree that the method needs to be changed. I'd be happy with a move / duplication of the profile selector to the system tray. Eliminate the need to bring up the control panel in order to switch among sets of user defined profiles.
     
  13. Rolf N

    Rolf N Recurring Membmare
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    yes
    I was referring to the infamous average Joe, not to a Joe as extraordinary as you :D

    That was the impression I got when I saw the unified panel: make it easier for peeps that don't know (and don't want to know) which game is which API.

    Sorry for any confusion ;)
     
  14. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    new jersey
    the game profiles are a step in the right directions. Hopefully they will add a quick change to the little symbol next to my clock . Oh and cat maker in dx if i uses the smart shader effects i ahve to restart to change them. They are fine in opengl
     
  15. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Curse me and my common name! :D
     
  16. horvendile

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sweden
    Two questions.

    Number one:
    I'm new to ATI. When I had a V5 there was a program called V4runner that allowed application specific settings. It's been hinted that similar programs exist for ATI hardware (I have an RV350). Could anyone point me in the right direction?

    Number two:
    It struck me that one possible fun thing with the smartshader effects would be if there was a version that made games look like old war documentaries - black & white and with scraps randomly appearing. I can think of some WW2 games that would be fun to try with that, especially flight simulators. Well, is there such an effect, or is the "classic" mode shown in the B3D review the closest we get?
    (You'd think that I, what with actually having an ATI card, could try this out by myself, but I'm at work and curious!)

    Uh... a third question, asked earlier in this thread but I don't think it got answered.
    Do you need to uninstall earlier drivers before installing new ones?
     
  17. Alistair

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge, England
    To be honest, all I want in the way of app-specific profiling and control panel redesign is the abaility to set that Overall Quality Slider from the sytem tray icon.

    It could replace the ability to change desktop resolution, which I never do and which is trivial from the desktop properties anyway.

    Simple to do, achieves the majority of what I want. A 5 position slider is enough tweaking for me, thanks.
     
  18. XForce

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mixed reactions all over the boards so far, didn't try the 3.8 yet, maybe I'll give the Omegas a try..

    Anyway I blindly agree to the following:
    - Profiles are nice, but should switch automaticaly on game/program start or be selectable via tray icon (shouldn't be to hard)
    - Combined D3D/OGL Tab: dunno yet, at least you can switch it off via "registry hack".

    Here you go: http://www.rage3d.com/r3dtweak/

    Strongly recommended.
    There's a removal tool included (or so I've read), dunno how good it works, but it may be a start.

    Cheers,
    Mac
     
  19. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Once again using the one file installer I get an empty Display Tab, meaning that I can't select the Video Out options...

    Twice in a row... There's something wrong in here. :evil:
     
  20. OpenGL guy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    28
    I used the one file installer and everything worked fine. Have you tried removing the old drivers/software first?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...