Catalyst 15.7 and Wolfenstein:The Old Blood

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Carnage Rules!, Aug 1, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    The first game i played(in fact i tried to play) after Catalyst 15.7 was Wolfenstein: The Old Blood. I'm using R9 270X and Windows 8.1. (All of the driver settings are default) I ran the game yesterday and i saw weird artifacts on the screen. Taking a screenshot or record the gameplay video is meaningless because the image that taken from the frame buffer is very clear so i'm gonna try to describe them(it's very hard for me): There are some blue or violet(or the same color of the area) boxes flickering on the screen and the number of boxes increase when i move, or turn left or right. When i stop the move the character, most of the artifacts disappear. After playing couple of minutes stopping the movement doesn't help. It seems like pure hardware error a lot. I quitted from the game and tried another game(Dirt:Rally) i didn't see any artifacts.

    I started to think and i remembered that i encountered some problems with Wolfenstein: The New Order. Here's the thread:

    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...450&highlight=

    But they wasn't horrible as i saw yesterday.

    I rolled back to Catalyst 14.12(I preferred to stay away from the betas) and i the problem solved. There's no graphical corruption(even common problems like z-fighting or texture flickering)

    Here's my questions:

    1/Was it a hardware error that some drivers can easily mask and some of them can't? I'm asking this because it seems like very hardware problem.

    2/Has anyone seen the same or similar problem? Is my card the only one that troubles Wolf:Old Blood with Cat 15.7?
     
  2. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,312
    Likes Received:
    5,940
    It looks like the core is overheating or just not getting enough power.

    Are you overclocking your card? Is the weather hotter than usual where you are now?
     
  3. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't overclocked anything. The temps are not too hot.
     
  4. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,312
    Likes Received:
    5,940
    It could be that your PSU is failing to provide enough voltage stability and current to the 12V rails.
     
  5. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe but the voltages seem OK. I have to measure with a voltmeter.

    I ran Furmark and Video Memory Stress Tester. The results are fine. I tried another games. They don't have a major issue.

    I thought that maybe old driver was masking a big hardware error and i assumed there's no problem. Or maybe new driver triggered another hardware issue(like core voltages) or changed card's working methods.

    What are you suggesting? Why another graphic intensive applications don't have the same problem?
     
  6. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,862
    Likes Received:
    4,041
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Do you have New Order to test it with as well? Might be a problem with the driver and the texture swapping it's doing on fast turns for megatexture.
     
  7. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tested it months ago and it has minor artifacts with Catalyst 14.4 WHQL. My PC requires 14.6 Beta to run the game without artifacts. I only played first level, and i didn't test it enough time.

    Disabling and enabling texture compression doesn't help. But enabling Adaptive V-SYNC and lowering all graphical settings together reduces the number of these glitches. If I only disable V-SYNC and enable adaptive v-sync(in game menu) or only lower the graphical quality doesn't work.

    I made a small Google research and i found this:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    My artifacts are not the same as in this picture but this artifacts are very severe. Their problem is related with CUDA accelearation at the megatexture compression. Enabling or disabling virtual texture compression doesn't make a difference on me.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,180
    Likes Received:
    3,400
    When I had a 6950 cats 14.12 I never had any problems
     
  10. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Very interesting that screencaps and videos don't show it.
     
  11. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    327
    FWIW, I believe the newer driver push the hardware a bit more, thus potentially more problem when the hardware isn't running perfectly. For example, on 14 something driver, my Kaveri could overclock as high as 4.7GHz (stable @4.5) with the GPU @900MHz. I must steadily decrease it when moving to a newer driver. Right now my CPU is at stock (I think I can run it at least @4.3 stable) and GPU @800 (900 is impossible!). Of course I'm using an APU, but maybe because I'm using an APU the bad effect becomes more severe (some windows file corrupted and I need to re-install mediaportal).
     
  12. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,628
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I've seen texture corruption on The Old Blood with my GTX 970 too. Seems likely to be a problem with the game itself. IIRC it started when I was trying to crank the detail settings. I ended up just using a master quality preset.
     
  13. Carnage Rules!

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the reason why i concern. Screenshots from frame buffer are perfect. This is why the problem seems like a hardware issue. But on the other hand changing driver solves the problem. Maybe 14.12 was masking a big hardware fault on the card.

    I suspect the same thing. But why more GPU intensive applications like FurMark and Video Memory Stress Tester don't have a problem. Maybe I have to push GPU and VRAM simultaneously. But I don't know which test do this. I don't even know "is stressing GPU and video memory at the same time possible?"

    @swaaye: What kind of artifacts do you have?
     
  14. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    327
    If I based my OC on FurMark, I definitely can OC higher. Not only GPU, but CPU can overclock higher if it's only based on synthetic benchmark/stress test stability. Probably a dynamic workload can lead to more instability vs a static but maximum load.
     
  15. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    After adding my 980Ti, I've bumped into a stability problem with an occasional game CTD that has never happened prior to the video card upgrade. I've gone back to stock clocks on the CPU and memory, and so far, all appears to be back to normal. The kilowatt powersupply I'm using should be more than sufficient for the equipment I have, so I assume that the CPU load with the 980Ti is simply "different enough" that it has exposed a previously undiscovered-by-me stability challenge.

    I'm guessing this is linked either to the different threading model in NV drivers, or else generally higher load on the CPU now that it isn't bottlenecked (as much) by the graphics card. Either way, perhaps not equivalent to your challenges, but worth considering that instability can crop up in weird places where it's been stable for eons past.
     
  16. Putas

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    108
    Same issue for me, Win7.1 and R9 270, it is still the same with 15.8 beta. New Order was fine.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...