Catalyst 13.2 Beta

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by CarstenS, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    How ?
     
  2. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,081
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    O Canada!
    There is a new 3D Applications settings page that is drop down oriented and also designed to add application specific profiles a little easier.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Anyone fancy posting a screenshot
    the old app profile page looks like it will only hold about 2 dozen unless a scrollbar appears when you fill up the space ?
     
  4. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    On my rock
    Is the 12.11 CAP still the latest that should be used with this beta driver?
     
  5. Otto Dafe

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    59
    I don't think you ever need / want to use a CAP that's older than the driver.
     
  6. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    There's no more sliders for the settings, instead you have a scroll menu.. All settings are too regrouped ( AA modes, Texture filters, Vertical refresh, Tesselation ) .

    There's ofc some change too on the Display Panel settings, Audio and other parameters.


    Old
    [​IMG]

    New CCC
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ( Sorry it is in french.. )
     
    #26 lanek, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2013
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    thanks
    ps: alt - prtscr
     
  8. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    82
    Beta 6 is now out:

     
  9. Dave Glue

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    25
    The new profile page is a huge improvement, the previous one was just bizarre to operate. This one is far more intuitive and easier to manage.
     
  10. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Can you actually edit existing profiles now without having to delete them and create them over again from scratch...?

    Also, is the power setting slider able to be profiled now?
     
  11. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,570
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Yup, totally agree. The old one I never knew if I was controlling everything or just one app, and if only one app WHICH app...this one I have no doubts about what is what and it seems to let me set app specific settings easily. I do likey!!!!
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    A couple of problems :
    1: Stll get a fail for amd app sdk when installing
    2: ccc missing from desktop right click menu
    3: Why does ccc think i have 6 gfx cards ?
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,081
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Those shortcuts are for display controls - i.e. you have the potential to support 6 displays.
     
  14. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Thanks but the above is the menu from the taskbar shortcut
    I dont want to disable the desktop right click menu I want to enable it, it was there in previous driver versions

    ps: before the 13.2 beta (is this the same beta 6 beta http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx )
    I ran the 13.1 whql and ccc wouldnt load at all

    Edit: it is beta 6
     
  16. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,698
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    lanek do you have shellex
    can you post the line at enables ccc context menu easiest to export the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Background\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\ACE key

    ps: when you select uninstall all amd software why does it leave the app profiles behind (bit pointless to keep them as newer drivers have them built in)
    I wonder if Dave "I only answer questions that make amd look good" bauman has an answer for that ;)
     
  17. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    If you dont have ACE in the SHellex.. Do a new folder called ACE with this default key {5E2121EE-0300-11D4-8D3B-444553540000}

    For the CAP profile, i know its a bit annoying, specially they are not removed when replaced, they are still lying there so after one year you end with many app profile in the program files

    But again, you should not have to do this .. I remember a discussion on guru3d about this, but yet i have not much time to watch it.
     
    #37 lanek, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2013
  18. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    2,230
    Location:
    Germany
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...