Catalyst 10.9s

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Broken Hope, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Drazick

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Yet in a game there are many complex tasks.
    In Matlab it is a simple 2D / 3D Drawing of a graph.

    I'm no expert, I wish that one guy in the driver team will have a look at that for half an hour.
    Maybe I'm wrong.

    Unfortunately, I guess ATI is focused almost exclusively on games.
    That's the main problem (You could see it as well when Tom's Hardware tested 2D Performances, Till then they didn't even try to get decent performances).
     
  2. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,003
    Location:
    O Canada!
    This also has overscan fixes and updates for Popcap games (i.e. Plants vs Zombies).
     
  3. Babel-17

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Sweet! Thanks!

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATICatalyst109Hotfix.aspx

    I'll give them a whirl.

    Edit: No more need for the "fix" I had in my start-up folder. :)

    Did an express uninstall then installed the 10.9a's.

    The fix kicked in and has stuck through one reboot since then.
     
    #23 Babel-17, Sep 17, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2010
  4. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Germany
    But there many people who have big problems with older OpenGL games (eg Jedi Knight games) and they have to use an older atioglxx.dll.

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1419169
     
  5. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,338
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Irony or not, it's a fact that AMD simply don't have the sheer manpower to support the driver/software development for its platforms, compared to NV. And this is not just games compatibility, but things like GPGPU, WS applications & etc.
     
  6. Ethatron

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    It's because they're a hardware company. :lol:
     
  7. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,597
    Serious Problem:

    Installed Cat 10.9 -> Fire up Google Chrome -> Flash Video = BSOD.

    Win 7 64-bit.

    EDIT: Wow... apparently all flash is borked Hulu just triggered BSOD as well.

    FAIL
     
    #27 ninelven, Oct 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2010
  8. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    Germany
    No probs with any flash encountered over here so far - even with 10.9.
     
  9. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,597
    Well, I rolled back to 10.8 and problem solved....
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15,594
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I might stick with the 10.9s forever. :(
     
  11. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    England
    Which version of flash? The x86 stable build or the 64 bit preview build? Because I've seen other reports of the 64 bit flash causing BSODs.
     
  12. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,916
    Why?
     
  13. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15,594
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I fear they may be the last set of ATi drivers. :cry:
     
  14. nbohr1more

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Tell that to the Doom 3 modders...
    Performance is competitive but stability... :???:

    See: Rebb, JC Denton, TRSGM, Sikkpin for further details...

    In fact, pose this question openly at www.doom3world.org ...
     
    #34 nbohr1more, Oct 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2010
  15. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,916
    Wow, you are overreacting. Yes, the AMD rebranding is stupid, but it's not the end of the world. It's not like they've fired the entire video card division and hired new people.
     
  16. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,597
    Was the x86 version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...